HTC books finals berth

DAVAO. Louie Omadle drives all the way to the basket to score for defending champion Holy Trinity College of General Santos City in their Philippine Collegiate Champions’ League (PCCL) Escandor Cup Mindanao Finals game against Universidad de Zamboanga Tuesday evening, February 4, at Almendras Gym Davao City Recreation Center. (Escandor Facebook Page)

DEFENDING champion Holy Trinity College (HTC) of General Santos City booked a ticket to the finals after posting its second straight win while Agro-Industrial Foundation College (AIFCP) Sailors eked out a victory after a first game loss to grab a seat in the battle for third as the Philippine Collegiate Champions’ League (PCCL) Escandor Cup Mindanao Finals resumed Tuesday evening, February 4, at the Almendras Gym Davao City Recreation Center.

HTC crushed Universidad de Zamboanga, 91-55, with Joewish Gracia drilling in 14 baskets to lead scoring for the team.

Louie Omadle and Ednor Akad scored identical 13 points to help lift the General Santos City-based dribblers’ triumph in the cagefest sanctioned and hosted by Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) under regional director Glenn Escandor, who is also a Presidential Adviser on Sports.

Johndel Waminal, meanwhile, sank 18 points for the Universidad de Zamboanga Wildcats who absored its second straight defeat. The latter also bowed to Holy Cross of Davao College (HCDC) Crusaders, 72-79, Monday, February 3.

The Agro Sailors, for its part, thrashed STI Cagayan de Oro, 97-67, behind the heroics of Redyn Arellano and Janrex Tahanlangit who erupted with 27 and 25 points, respectively.

STI Cagayan de Oro leaned on Jerome Minaling and April Jun Pacana who poured in 18 markers apiece.

Agro Sailors and HCDC Crusaders were playing for third place as of yesterday presstime, February 5. Both squads renew their rivalry after the former overcame the latter in the 2019 CSL/Escandor Cup Finals championship match.

The titular showdown between Mats College of Technology and HTC was scheduled at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday. Eighth-time PCCL Mindanao champion HTC will gun for its nine-peat while Mats reached the finals for the first time.

SBP operations head Ronel Leuterio said the top two teams in the Mindanao Finals will advance to the Visayas-Mindanao Finals.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!