Cagayan De Oro
Wednesday, September 22, 2021

City Central stings Corpus Christi, 59-56

CAGAYAN DE ORO. The City Central dribblers in their memorable championship fight with the Corpus Christi School. The CCS Stingers prevail, 59-56. (Contributed photo)

THE public schools are proving they can stand against the top varsity teams from private schools in Cagayan de Oro basketball.

In the recent LGU-DepEd Grassroots Developmental Basketball Tournament, the City Central School (CCS) Stingers stunned the Corpus Christi School (CCS) Baby Knights, 59-56, to capture the elementary crown (Under 12) in a closely-fought battle that was decided only in the final minute of the ballgame.

Mc Ivan Mabalos and Fredrich John Loking both scored 13 points to pace the CCS Stingers that also drew 10 markers each from Danza and Pava.

The CCS Baby Knights got 15, 11 and 10 points each from Kharl Steven Ortiz, Go and Tan in a losing cause.

"It was a very exciting finish with narrow lead from start to finish when the breaks of the game went to City Central's side," said tournament overseer Raul Fuentes.

In the fight for third place, Riezel Tuballa exploded for 29 points to lead the West City Central School's 67-52 victory over the East City Central School.

Suarez and Tagocon backed Tuballa's big numbers with 14 and 12 points, respectively.

Melvin Janao top-scored East CCS with 18 points.

In a friendly match between the CDO Executives and DepEd Educators, the ageless Allan Enteria came up with a bucket of 3-pointers to lead the wards of Mayor Oscar Moreno with 20 points in a lopsided 87-77 triumph.

The scores:


City Central School 59 -- Loking 13, Mabalos 13, Danza 10, Pava 10, Balansag 6, Caingin 2, Gamutin 2, Lumantas 2, Odarbe 1, Babael 0, Lorejo 0, Campued 0, Lagman 0, Pingol 0.

Corpus Christi GS 56 -- Ortiz 15, Go 11, Tan 10, Gomez 8, Selibio 7, Capal 3, Manzano 2, Limbaga 0, Olango 0, Lanas 0, Serino 0, Lumasag 0.

For 3rd

West CCS 67 -- Tuballa 29, Suarez 14, Tagocon 12, Lumahang 6, Alquiza 4, Gonzales 2.

East CCS 52 -- Janao 18, Orlasan 9, Bantinay 8, Domingo 7, Poquero 5, Vicente 3, Cabalang 2.


The Executive 87 -- Enteria 20, Acaylar 14, Tongco 13, Diaz 8, Marte 6, Abato 6, Sajulga 6, Carretas 5, Rivera 3, Hengania 2, Raagas 2, Moreno 0, Casino 0, Acedo 0.

DepEd 77 -- Pastrano 26, Vitorillo 25, Borres 9, Bernales 4, Pamplona 4. Felisilda 3, Janeo 2, Mabalos 0, Carbon 0, Pagulon 0, Monsanto 0, Lariba 0.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!