HERITAGE buildings, major streets, city plazas, and monuments in Iloilo City were placed under the Iloilo City Cultural Heritage Conservation Council (ICCHCC).

Seven streets, nine city plazas and monuments, and a total of 26 heritage buildings located at the central business district (CBD) heritage zone were placed under ICCHCC following the Executive Order No. 46 issued by Mayor Jerry P. Treñas.

Click here for Election 2010 updates

The ordinance aims to conserve cultural heritage and legacy buildings, structures and site in this city.

The ordinance provides that “the owner, administrator, lessee or any person who is in charge of heritage or legacy buildings or structure duly identified by the council is hereby prohibited from undertaking any repair, rehabilitation or construction of any kind unless with favorable recommendation of the ICCHCC.”

The IRR shall apply to the development and management of CBD heritage zone, Treñas said.

The recognized heritage buildings along JM Basa Street are the Celso Ledesma, Dominican Sisters Pilar, Javellana II, Iloilo Lucky Auto Supply, S. Javellana, Villanueva, Divinagracia, Iloilo Central Trading, Regent Arcade, Commission on Audit Office, Magdalena, Cacho and Villanueva buildings.

Heritage buildings along Iznart Street are the Villanueva, S. Villanueva, Iloilo Public Market, J. Melliza, Tayengco, LJ Hormillosa and the Celso Ledesma buildings.

The streets include Aldeguer, Arsenal, Guanco, streets around Plaza Libertad, Rizal, Arroyo and Mapa. The plazas and monuments identified are Plaza Libertad, Freedom Grandstand, Maria Clara, Plazoleta Gay, Molo, Arevalo, Jaro, La Paz and Mandurriao. (Lydia C. Pendon)