Capitol to declare lockdown in 59 Negros Occidental villages

BACOLOD. The San Sebastian-Araneta road in Bacolod City looks like an abandoned street during the first day of the implementation of the "Enhanced Community Quarantine" indicating high level of cooperation among the motorists and residents on the government's call to flatten the curve of Covid-19 spread in the city. (Edwin Ombion)

GOVERNOR Eugenio Jose Lacson and Provincial Consultant for Trade and Investment Promotions Alfredo Benitez said that 59 barangays from 14 local government units in the province will be declared under a coronavirus disease (Covid-19) lockdown or Extreme Community Quarantine because of the presence of patients under investigation (PUI).

Benitez said that under the extreme community quarantine or lockdown, in areas having PUIs, which are also considered as "hot zones," all exemptions that were granted under the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) will be suspended.

He clarified that under a lockdown, the quarantine pass issued by the barangays Monday, March 30, would be void. Everyone should stay at home and would no longer be allowed to go out.

"We enjoin our people to stay at home and follow all the guidelines in barangays where there are PUIs so that we can get back to our normal lives," Benitez said.

"We will restrict movements where there are prospective carriers because we cannot see our enemy which is the virus," he added.

Among the areas identified as "hot zones" by the Provincial Health Office are the following:

* In Bago City -- Purok Camatis, Barangay Pacol; San Esteban Subd., Phase 4, Barangay Lag-asan; Purok Masinadyahon, Barangay Lag-asan; Purok Kanlaon, Barangay Don Jorge Araneta; Purok Violetas, Barangay Balingasag; Purok Kalubihan, Barangay Tabunan; Purok Humay, Barangay Napoles; Ma. Elena, Barangay Dulao; and Zone 4.

* Binalbagan -- Zone 4 and Sitio Pucatod, Barangay Payao

* Cadiz City -- Hda. Hortencia, Barangay Daga; Barangay Banquerohan; Barangay Daga B; Caduhaan; Barangay Cabahug; Zone 6

* Calatrava -- Proper Lemery; Sitio Tunga, Barangay Bantayanon; Sitio Paraiso, Barangay Refugio

* E.B. Magalona -- Purok Malunggay, Barangay Tabigue; Mahusay, Barangay 2

* Himamaylan -- Barangay 2; Barangay Carabalan; Barangay Saraet, Barangay Talaban

* Hinigaran -- Barangay 2; Barangay Cambugsa; Barangay Gargato; Barangay Miranda; Barangay Nanunga; Barangay Paticui; Barangay Pilar

* Isabela -- Barangay Cansalongon

* Moises Padilla -- Barangay 1; Barangay4; Barangay Inolingan; Barangay Magallon Cadre; Barangay Montilla

* Pontevedra -- Barangay 1, Poblacion; Barangay Gomez

* San Carlos City -- Zone 1, Barangay 6; St. Vincent Subd., Barangay 1; Barangay Quezon; Proper Nataban; Sitio Sangay, Nataban; Sitio Agma- ula, Nataban; Margarita Village, Barangay 2; New Era St., Barangay 2; Cabagtasan, Barangay Codcod; Purok Lubi; Barangay 1, Fatima Village, Barangay Rizal; Sitio Trozo. Barangay Buluangan

* Silay City -- Barangay 5 (under verification)

* Toboso -- Sitio Malig-on, Barangay Bandila

* Valladolid -- Barangay Bayabas; Barangay Palaka and Barangay Tabao Proper.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!