ISLAND Garden City of Samal (Igacos) players Christian Fel Lopez and Lenelyn Milo pocketed crowns in the Mayor Rody and Inday Sara Duterte Araw ng Dabawe Age-Group Tennis Championships held recently at the Ecoland Phase 4 Tennnis Club courts.

The 11-year-old Lopez overwhelmed Joey Montero of Banaybanay, Davao Oriental, 6-2, 6-2, for the boys 12-under title while Milo crushed Genevieve Coarte of Davao City on the same note for the girls 16-under diadem of the Group 3 event sanctioned by the Philippine Tennis Association (Philta).

Click here for Election 2010 updates

Ateneo de Davao University (AdDU) netter Andre Banate also shared the limelight when he overwhelmed fellow Davao City bet Clee Jay Albano, 6-2, 6-2, to capture the boys 18-under crown.

The girls 18-under crown went to Jessica Lucas of Maramag, Bukidnon, who pulled off a 6-3, 4-6, 10-6 win over Eloisa Collo of Digos City.

Rogelio Estanio Jr of Parang, Maguindanao also posted a 4-6, 6-1, 10-5 victory over Davao City's Juan Paolo Cansino in their boys 16-under championship showdown while Jeleardo Amazona of Banaybanay and Roxanne Resma of Cagayan de Oro City clinched the boys and girls 14-under titles, respectively.

Amazona whipped Carlo Nono of Kabacan, 6-2, 6-2, while Resma turned back Kendies Thea Malinis of Maramag, 6-2, 7-5.

Aiko Miyata of Sto. Tomas, meanwhile, spanked Janelle Carmela Llavore of Cagayan, 7-4, 6-2 for the girls 12-under crown while Jericho Painagan of Sto. Tomas overcame Janus Ringia of Marbel, South Cotabato, 6-3, 6-4 for the 10-under unisex title.

Philta Regional Vice President Juanito "Titong" Cansino, Jr. awarded the cash prizes of P2,000 to the champions and P1,000 to the runners-up, who also received medals.

The tournament was presented by Davao City Mayor Rodrigo and Vice Mayor Sara Duterte in coordination with the Sports Development Division of the City Mayor's Office (SDD)-CMO.