THE Department of Health (DOH) has identified eight barangays in Cebu City which should stay under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ).

In a press briefing on May 29, 2020, Barangays Carreta, Sawang Calero, Bacayan, Mambaling, Labangon, Tejero, Luz, and Suba were tagged as red areas. DOH has recommend that they remain under ECQ status.

DOH Central Visayas regional director Jaime Bernadas said these are the barangays whose residents took the rapid antibody test and had antibodies in their blood samples, which were higher than five percent.

Bernadas said the Cebu City Government should start its surveillance in the areas to determine how many of the coronavirus disease (Covid-19) patients have already recovered.

The DOH also recommended 31 barangays to be placed under modified ECQ for having one to 25 Covid-19 cases.

These are Barangays Babag, Capitol Site, Kinasang-an, Sta. Cruz, Banilad, Camputhaw, Lahug, Sambag 1, Sambag 2, Talamban, Tisa, Busay, Day-as, Guadalupe, Pasil, Apas, Basak Pardo, Basak San Nicolas, Bulacao, Calamba, Cogon Ramos, Hipodromo, Inayawan, Kalunasan, Mabolo, Pardo, T. Padilla, Punta Princesa, Duljo, San Nicolas Central, and Ermita.

These barangays were tagged green as they have no prevalence of the virus: Buhisan, Pit-os, Pulangbato, Quiot Pardo, San Jose, Mabini, Sirao, Tinago, Budlaan, Cambinocot, Cogon Pardo, Kalubihan, Kasambagan, Lorega, Lusaran, Pahina San Nicolas, San Antonio, Sapangdaku, Zapatera, Toong, and Pahina Central.

Cebu City Mayor Edgardo Labella said he will take into consideration the findings of the health officials. (JJL)