Deadline for taxes moved further to June 25

THE City Council of Cagayan de Oro has further extended the deadline for the payment of taxes, fees, and charges in the second quarter to June 25.

No surcharges and penalties will be collected by the City Treasurer from taxpayers who will pay on or before this new deadline.

In a letter dated May 21, Mayor Oscar Moreno requested to amend the ordinance approved on April 20, which extended the deadline for the payment of the second quarter business taxes to May 20.

The request was made pursuant to the Department Order No. 002-2020 dated April 23 of the Department of Finance and in compliance with the Republic Act 11469 or the Bayanihan to Heal as One Act.

Based on the Local Revenue Code of Cagayan de Oro City, local business taxes shall be paid once within the first 20 days of January or in quarterly installments within the first 20 days of January, April, July, and October annually.

Payment outside of the aforementioned deadlines will earn a surcharge of 25 percent and a penalty of two percent per month.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!