Oro's finest vs Davao All-Star in first online chess challenge

CAGAYAN DE ORO. Arena Grandmaster Henry Lopez, a bemedalled PWD chesser in the international arena, beefs up the Davao All-Stars in their first ever online setto with the best pawnpushers from Cagayan de Oro. (Contributed Photo)

CAGAYAN de Oro's finest chessers dominated their counterparts from Davao region in their last goodwill match via the standard event in flesh over a dozen boards.

In the "Chess for Peace Pandemic Edition" set on June 27-28, marking their 6th keenly-awaited encounter, the Davao All-Stars will have the chance to get even in their first ever online blitz face-off with time control of 3 minutes plus 2 seconds increment over site.

"Actually, wala 'ni siya's labot sa official nga yearly match diin tabla na ang score at 2.5 points each human gipilde sa CdeO-Mis-Or ang Davao in their last meeting. Although sa online ang dula, exciting 'ni nga challenge karon kay adunay innovation and an added feature," local event facilitator Fr. Vic Arellano told SunStar Cagayan de Oro.

The opposing teams, composed of 10 regular players and 10 executives each, will clash in random chess 960 and standard chess. Team result will be based on the total scores of all the players in the regular boards and executives.

Winners will get P3,000, while the losers will receive P2,000.

Making up for the Davao All-Stars are IM Oliver Dimakiling, FM AJ Literatus, NM Alex Lupian, AGM Henry Lopez, Jayson Salubre, Aglipay Oberio, Joh Ray Batucan, Junmark Baldesimo, Carl Zirex Sato and Mohammad Sacar for the regular boards; and NM Jonathan Tan, Engr. Allan Diez, IA/FT James Infiesto, Atty. Jong Guevarra, Atty. Melzar Galicia, Rey Urbiztundo, Homer Rotulo, Christopher Yap, Lyndon Sombilon and Rhynan Arce for the executives.

The CdeO-MisOr all-stars are comprised of (regular boards) IM Richelieu Salcedo III, Lennon Hart Salgados, Johnnel Balquin, Christian Arroyo, Antonio Chavez Jr., Alfredo Rapanot, Nazario Ubanan, Romeo Canino, Randolph Christopher Dalauta, Ronald Canino and (executives) NM Levi Mercado, Jaime Frias II, Cleto Vasquez, Bryan Jose, Paul Omongos, Jayson Nabatlao, Ralph Dalauta, Resureccion Gunayan, Abdul Halil Abdullah and Fr. Vic Arellano.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!