JAYSON Salubre bagged the Araw nd Dabaw Mayor Rody-Vice Mayor Inday Sara Duterte Open Chess Championship Sundat at Gaisano South Citimall.

Salubre finished the seven-round tournament with 6.5 points along with Henry Roger Lopez but emerged with the superior tie-break. Both Salubre and Lopez, however, went home with P3,750 each.

Click here for Election 2010 updates

Three players -- National Master Alexander Lupian, Reynaldo Quiñonez and Aglipay Oberio -- ended up tied with six points apiece.

Lupian, however, placed third after the tie-break was imposed, while Quiñonez and Oberio finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

A total of 135 players joined the two-day tournament, which was one of the highlights of the 73rd Araw ng Dabaw celebration.

In the Age-Group Championship played last March 14 and 21, Oberio and Rowelyn Joy Acedo seized the crowns in the boys 18 and girls 18 divisions, respectively.

Oberio finished with four points, the same output of Kenneth John Tabada, Austin Jacob Literatus and Adrian Llanos, but emerged with the higher tie-break to end up the winner.

Acedo scored five points to finish her division a full point ahead of May Israel Palero, who placed second with 4 points. Mary Rose Sevilla emerged third placer with 4.5 points.

In the boys 16 and under class, John Gerald Acedo emerged on top with 4.5 points. Ademar Toleran Jr. placed second with four points and Alvin Acas third with his 3.5.

Sharing the limelight was Cristy Grace Ngo, who won the girls 14 under title. She amassed four points to top Hannah Joyce Amoncio, Joerlz Gimony, Starjean Candia, Christy Buna and Marianne Infiesto, who each scored three points.