Duterte names 7 of 18 new judges to Cebu trial courts

President Rodrigo Duterte. (AP photo)

SEVEN Cebu-based lawyers were appointed as new Regional Trial Court (RTC) judges in Cebu by President Rodrigo Duterte.

In a letter to Supreme Court (SC) Chief Justice Diosdado Peralta dated April 27, 2020, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea announced the President's appointment of 18 new RTC judges to various areas in the country.

Of the newly appointed judges, seven are based in Cebu.

These new judges are Van Russel Inopiquez, RTC Branch 3 in Cebu City; Jose Alfonso Gomos, RTC Branch 5 in Lapu-Lapu City; Maria Dee Seares, RTC Branch 6 in Mandaue City; Romeo Reyes Jr., RTC Branch 7 in Talisay City; Judilyn Tapia, RTC Branch 8 in Toledo City; Ernesto Narido Jr., RTC Branch 11 in Carcar City; and Albie Carmelo Pescadero, RTC Branch 12 in Naga City.

The appointments were formally received by Peralta on Tuesday, July 14, 2020.

The Office of the President has directed the Supreme Court to notify within seven days the lawyers about their appointments.

This has been the third time that Duterte appointed Cebu-based lawyers to the judiciary since his administration started in 2016.

Since 2016, Duterte has appointed a total of 25 Cebu-based lawyers to the RTC. (JKV)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!