Duterte appoints 2 Monetary Board members

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has named V. Bruce J. Tolentino and Anita Linda R. Aquino as full-time private sector representatives to the seven-member Monetary Board (MB), the highest policy-making body of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP).

Tolentino, who first joined the MB on June 18, 2018, will have a fresh term of six years after serving the unexpired balance of the term of Valentin A. Araneta who passed away on Feb. 21, 2018.

Before his appointment to the MB, Tolentino worked as deputy director general of the International Rice Research Institute. He was also chief economist and country representative at The Asia Foundation, senior technical adviser at the Agriculture and Natural Resources of the Catholic Relief Services, and senior economic policy adviser at the Asian Development Bank.

Aquino, meanwhile, was a member of the board of directors of the Philippine Deposit Insurance Corp. representing the private sector. Most recently, she also represented PDIC as board adviser to the United Coconut Planters Bank.

She also served as Department of Finance chief of staff and held key positions at Standard Chartered Bank Manila, Rizal Commercial Banking Corp., Citicorp Investment Bank in Singapore and Citibank NA Manila. (PR)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!