2 Rizal towns require face shields in public places

MANILA. A barber wearing a protective suit and face shield to prevent the spread of the new coronavirus concentrates as he cuts the hair of a man at a barbershop in Manila, Philippines on Monday, June 8, 2020. (AP)

THE municipalities of Taytay and Cainta in Rizal are requiring residents to wear face shields aside from face masks in public establishments such as markets, malls and groceries while the province is under the modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ).

Cainta Ordinance number 2020-025 as supported by Executive Order No. 10 Series of 2020 signed by Mayor Johnielle Keith Nieto, individuals entering public and private establishments such as supermarkets, markets, hospitals, drugstores, remittance centers, financial institutions, courier service centers and government offices, are required to wear face mask and face shield at all times to further prevent the spread of the coronavirus disease (Covid-19).

Violators will be required to attend Covid-19 awareness campaigns or seminars for at least three hours and pay a fine of a maximum of P1,000.

In Taytay, the order is based on Ordinance no. 44 series of 2020.

As of August 4, there were 468 confirmed cases of Covid-19 in Cainta, of which 143 were active. Twenty-five patients were admitted in the hospitals and quarantine facilities while 118 were under home quarantine.

The Cainta municipal government recorded 28 deaths and 297 recoveries in its area.

Meanwhile, in Taytay, there were 382 cases as of August 5, of which 197 were active. Of the active cases, 145 were undergoing home quarantine while 52 were admitted.

The Taytay Public Information Office said 27 individuals died from Covid-19 while 158 recovered.

It said there were 358 more Covid suspect cases in their municipality.

Wearing of face shields is required in public transport systems beginning August 15.

The Department of Transportation (DOTr), which proposed this additional safety measure, said the proposal is still being reviewed by the National Task Force Against Covid19.

The province of Rizal along with Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Metro Manila have been reverted to MECQ because of rising Covid-19 cases. (SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!