IATF members to support, monitor high-risk areas

File Photo

THE Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases has assigned its members to provide support to local government units (LGUs) and monitor compliance to protocols in areas with “high community transmission” of coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19).

The areas covered are all the 16 cities and one municipality in the National Capital Region, and the neighboring provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal.

These areas were reverted to modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) on August 4 because of a surge in cases of infection. The capital region and the four provinces have consistently topped the list of areas with the highest number of new cases.

In Resolution No. 62 approved on August 12, 2020, the IATF said these point persons will strictly monitor health system performance, critical care capacity utilization, and stringent compliance to surveillance, isolation and treatment protocols.

National Capital Region

  • Quezon City - Health Secretary Francisco Duque III and Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles
  • Pasig City - Education Secretary Leonor Briones and Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat
  • Pateros - Metro Manila Development Authority chairman Danilo Lim
  • Marikina and Malabon - Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III and Commission on Higher Education chairman Prospero de Vera
  • Taguig City - Local Government Secretary Eduardo Año and Bases Conversion and Development Authority CEO Vivencio Dizon
  • City of Manila - Information and Communications Technology Secretary Gregorio Honasan II and Anti-Red Tape Authority Jeremiah Belgica
  • Mandaluyong City - Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez
  • Makati City - National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon Jr.
  • San Juan City - Acting Socioeconomic Secretary Karl Kendrick Chua
  • Muntinlupa City - Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade
  • Parañaque City - Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Carlito Galvez Jr.
  • Las Piñas City - Public Works Secretary Mark Villar
  • Pasay City - Presidential Spokesperson Herminio “Harry” Roque
  • Caloocan City - Agriculture Secretary William Dar
  • Navotas City - Budget Secretary Wendel Avisado
  • Valenzuela City - Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato dela Peña
Bulacan - Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra

Cavite - Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana

Laguna - Presidential Communications Secretary Martin Andanar

Rizal - Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi

Earlier, the IATF assigned Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu to oversee the government's Covid-19 response in Cebu City, following a surge in cases in June. Cebu City was reverted to enhanced community quarantine (ECQ), the highest quarantine level on June 16.

As the situation improved, restrictions were eased to MECQ on July 16 and further to general community quarantine (GCQ) on August 1.

In the same resolution, the IATF also approved the recommendation of the Department of Agriculture to issue, along with the Department of the Interior and Local Government, the guidelines on the establishment of a local rice task force in each LGU for the proper implementation and monitoring of the rice program.

The task force also approved the resumption of Part II of the qualifying assessment (QA) for foreign medical professionals on September 19, 2020 by the Professional Regulation Commission.

However, both the QA and the physician licensure examination will be held only in areas under GCQ or modified general community quarantine. (Marites Villamor-Ilano/SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!