Dacayanan, Pacle lead winners in Charter Day MTB

BAGUIO. Xy James Dacayanan negotiates an uphill portion of the 2.3-kilometer cross country course at the Virago Sports and Recreational Camp in Loakan Proper, Baguio City enroute to topping his category during the 111th Baguio Charter Day MTB Fun Events. (Photo by Roderick Osis)

XY JAMES Dacayanan clocked a blistering 36.48 minutes as he nearly out lapped his opponents to lead the winners of the 111th Baguio Charter Day MTB Fun Events last week at the Virago Sports and Recreational Camp in Loakan Proper, Baguio City.

Dacayanan topped the Senior’s Men category (22 to 29 years old) in the cross country event, edging second placer Clint Sabilo who checked in at 43.08 while third placer Renniel Cabanes finished the 2.3-kilometer two-lap racecourse with a time of 43.12.

In the one-lap Beginner/Intermediate men’s open, Jude Simsim clocked 19.49 minutes to finish on top while Gio Raphael Diego had a time of 20.50 as Karl Andre Basto checked in at 24.01 to settle for third and second places, respectively.

In the distaff side, Marjorie Velo bagged first place with a time of 29.13 minutes followed by Kenie Neven Jan Omengan who came in second with a time of 31.43 while Trishan Badua came in third with a time of 43.43.

In the Junior Boys (13-16) division, Jan Kenneth Pacle completed the course with a time of 46.01, while Kim Aeon Lance Dino who checked in at 47.18 came in second. Finishing third is Ivan Acuin with a time of 50.59.

Arnel Gayao, meanwhile, clocked 39.49 minutes to rule the Youth Boys category (17-21), edging Mead Nathaniel Dulay who came in second with a time of 53 minutes while Shun Colocob finished third with a time of

In the Masters A men (30-39), Joseph Velo finished first with a time of 37.57, as Harry Tanoja completed the two-lap racecourse with a time of 44.02, while Kriston Lee Fuchigami was third with a time of 44.55.

Sonny Lamsis topped the Masters B men (40-49) with a time of 37.41 minutes as Gary Vincent Padsing had a time of 39.14 to finish second while Rommel Saguilot came in third after clocking 44.59.

In the Masters C men (50 and up), Samuel Egasen edged Melvin Odsey with a time of 54.38 to claim the top prize in the category, while Odsey clocked 1.04.01.

Race organizer Marites Bitbit said some 37 riders from Baguio and Benguet joined the two-day fun ride backed by Engineer Rowald Julian of RAJ, Hector Yuzon of RD Cycles, Genesis Soriano of Booster C, Baguio Fire Department - Medical Team, Loakan Proper Barangay Tanod for the security under the supervision of Barangay Chairman Edouard Cayetano, University of Cordillera's Education Department headed my Dean Ramir Austria, Chief Inspector Jessie Annasiw of the Baguio City Fire Department and Petra Dzurova.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!