TROPICAL depression Ofel made its first landfall in Can-avid, Eastern Samar at 2:30 a.m. Wednesday, October 14, 2020, according to state weather bureau Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa).

At 3 a.m., the weather system was estimated to be in the vicinity of Maslog, Eastern Samar, with maximum sustained winds of 45 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center and gustiness of up to 55 kph.

It was moving west northwestward at 20 kph and was tracked in Bobon, Northern Samar at 4 a.m. Wednesday.

Moderate to heavy rains are expected to prevail over the entire Eastern Visayas region Wednesday as well as in Bicol, Marinduque, Romblon, Quezon, Batangas, and Mindoro provinces.

Light to moderate with at times heavy rains will also be experienced over Metro Manila, Aurora, Bataan, Pampanga, Bulacan, and the rest of Calabarzon due to “Ofel” and over most of Mindanao due to the southwest monsoon.

In an advisory issued at 6 a.m., Pagasa warned of possible flashfloods and landslides as heavy or prolonged rainfall could affect rivers and tributaries in Eastern Visayas and other affected areas.

The tropical depression was predicted to cross the island of Samar Wednesday morning, before moving west-northwestward over the inland seas of Southern Luzon.

It may pass close or over Masbate, Romblon, and Mindoro provinces and will likely intensify into a tropical storm on Thursday morning. It is predicted to exit the Philippine area of responsibility (PAR) on Friday afternoon.

Strong- to near gale-force winds will be experienced in areas under Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 1 during the passage of the tropical depression.

TCWS No. 1 (30 to 60 kph winds prevailing or expected in 36 hours) is hoisted over the following areas as of 5 a.m. Wednesday:
  • Southern portion of Batangas (Batangas City, Ibaan, Padre Garcia, Rosario, San Juan, Taysan, Lobo)
  • Southern portion of Quezon (Tagkawayan, Guinayangan, Calauag, Alabat, Perez, Quezon, San Francisco, San Andres, San Narciso, Mulanay, Buenavista, Lopez, General Luna, Gumaca, Macalelon, Pitogo, Unisan, Plaridel, Atimonan, Agdangan, Padre Burgos, Lucena City, Pagbilao, Candelaria, Sariaya, Tiaong, San Antonio, Tayabas City, Dolores, Catanauan)
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Marinduque
  • Romblon
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Albay
  • Sorsogon
  • Masbate (including Ticao and Burias Islands)
  • Northern Samar
  • Eastern Samar
  • Samar
  • Biliran
  • Northern portion of Leyte (Tabango, Leyte, San Isidro, Calubian, Capoocan, Carigara, Jaro, Pastrana, Dagami, Tabontabon, Tanauan, Palo, Santa Fe, Alangalang, Tacloban City, Babatngon, San Miguel, Barugo, Tunga). (MVI/SunStar Philippines)