Tuesday, August 03, 2021

Velasco designated as caretaker of Cebu City 1st district


HOUSE Speaker Lord Allan Velasco was designated Wednesday, November 18, 2020, as caretaker of the Cebu City first legislative district following the death of Representative Raul del Mar.

Velasco’s designation as caretaker was “upon the wishes of the late Del Mar, as communicated by his family and constituency,” a statement from the House said. Del Mar died in a hospital in Manila on Monday, November 16.

Also on Wednesday, the House elected three deputy speakers, namely, Cagayan de Oro City 2nd District Rep. Rufus Rodriguez, Buhay Party-list Rep. Jose “Lito” Atienza and Las Piñas Rep. Camille Villar.

The House also elected former Batangas Rep. Mark Llandro “Dong” Mendoza as its new secretary-general, after lawyer Jocelia Bighani Sipin tendered her resignation earlier Wednesday.

Sipin will assume a new position as deputy secretary general to work closely with Speaker Velasco and oversee the affairs of his office.

The legislative chamber also elected Pampanga 2nd District Rep. Juan Miguel “Mikey” Arroyo as chairman of the committee on energy; Caloocan City 1st District Rep. Dale “Along” Malapitan as head of the House contingent to the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal; and ACT-CIS Rep. Eric Go Yap as vice-chair of the committee on accounts.

Rodriguez, known as one of House’s own legal luminaries, was elected to replace Capiz 2nd District Rep. Fredenil Castro.

He has been a congressman from 2007 to 2016 and from 2019 to present. A law graduate from the University of the Philippines, Rodriguez served as vice-governor of Misamis Oriental from 1984 to 1986. In 1990, he became the dean of the College of Law of San Sebastian College.

Rodriguez was commissioner of the Bureau of Immigration during the term of former President Joseph Estrada.

Atienza will replace Laguna 1st District Rep. Dan Fernandez.

Atienza has been representing the Buhay Party-list in Congress since 2014. He previously served as secretary of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources from 2007 to 2009 during the Arroyo administration.

He also served three consecutive terms as mayor of Manila from 1998 to 2007.

Villar replaced Batangas 2nd District Rep. Raneo “Ranie” Abu.

At 35, Villar is one of the youngest deputy speakers ever elected by the House.

She is the only daughter of real estate tycoon Manuel “Manny” Villar Jr. and incumbent Senator Cynthia Villar.

The Villar patriarch was a former Senate President and House Speaker. He is also the president of the Nacionalista Party, the oldest political party in the country. (PR)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!