Palace declares Dec. 4 holiday in Cebu province

Photo courtesy of the National Library of the Philippines (distributed by Philippine Presidential Museum and Library) -

MALACANANG has declared Friday, Dec. 4, 2020, as a special non-working day in Cebu Province as it celebrates the 104th birth anniversary of the late senator Sergio Osmeña Jr.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation No. 1053 on November 18, declaring Dec. 4, 2020, a special non-working day in Cebu Province.

However, the proclamation is silent on the inclusion of the three highly urbanized cities -- Mandaue, Lapa-Lapu, and Cebu.

The three cities are not under the provincial supervision of the governor of Cebu.

Osmeña served as the Governor of Cebu Province from 1951 to 1959; as Mayor of Cebu City from 1959 to 1963; and elected as senator from 1965 to 1971.

Duterte said, "it is but fitting and proper that the people of the Province Cebu be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies, subject to community quarantine, social distancing, and other public health measures."

Last year, Cebu City Mayor Edgardo Labella wanted Reps. Rodrigo Abellanosa and the late Raul del Mar to enact a law that would declare Dec. 4 as a special holiday in the City.

Labella said doing so would be in honor of Osmeña, who gave immeasurable contributions to the City's economy and infrastructure./WBS


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Create your own user feedback survey