Tuesday, August 03, 2021

M6.3 quake jolts Luzon on Christmas Day

Image from Phivolcs

A MAGNITUDE 6.3 tectonic earthquake shook Metro Manila and other parts of Luzon at 7:43 a.m. on Christmas Day, December 25, 2020.

No damage was expected, but aftershocks were occurring as of 10 a.m. Friday, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said in its advisory.

The quake struck near Calatagan, Batangas. Phivolcs initially said it occurred at a depth of 74 kilometers, but revised this to 102 kilometers and further to 109 kilometers.

It was felt in the following areas at up to Intensity V.

Intensity V- Calatagan, Balayan, Nasugbu, Batangas City, Balayan, Calaca and San Luis, Batangas; Tagaytay City, Amadeo, Indang, Kawit and Alfonso, Cavite; Lubang and Looc, Occidental Mindoro; Biñan, Laguna

Intensity IV -Abra de Ilog and Paluan, Occidental Mindoro; Taal, San Jose, San Pascual, Lemery, Malvar and Ibaan, Batangas; Maragundon and Carmona, Cavite; San Pedro, Laguna; City of Manila; Marikina City; Quezon City; Cainta, San Mateo and Antipolo City, Rizal; Pasig City; Las Piñas City; Obando, Malolos and Meycauyan, Bulacan; Subic and San Felipe, Zambales; Alaminos, Pangasinan; Santo Tomas, La Union; City of Mabalacat, Pampanga

Intensity III - Talisay and Santo Tomas, Batangas; Puerto Galera, Pinamalayan, Naujan, San Teodoro and Calapan, Oriental Mindoro; Caloocan City; Tanay, Rizal; San Jose Del Monte City and Plaridel, Bulacan; San Jose City and Gapan City, Nueva Ecija; Cabangan and Iba, Zambales; Samal, Bataan; Floridablanca and Santa Ana, Pampanga; Valenzuela City; Malabon City

Intensity II - San Isidro, Nueva Ecija; Alaminos City, Pangasinan; Lucban and Guinayangan, Quezon; Doña Remedios, Trinidad

Intensity I- Villasis, Pangasinan; Lucena City, Quezon

Instrumental Intensities:

Intensity IV - Bacoor City; Tagaytay City; Carmona, Cavite; Plaridel, Calumpit, San Ildefonso, San Rafael, and Malolos, Bulacan; Guagua, Pampanga; Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro; Las Piñas City; Navotas City; Paranaque City; Malabon City

Intensity III - Tagaytay City; Talisay, Batangas; San Jose, Occidental Mindoro; Dagupan City; Quezon City; Pasig City; Muntinlupa City; Marikina City; San Juan City; Cabanatuan City; Calapan, Oriental Mindoro

Intensity II - Roxas, Oriental Mindoro; Lucban, Quezon; Baler, Aurora; Palayan City; San Isidro, Nueva Ecija

Intensity I - San Jose, Nueva Ecija; Gumaca, Lopez and Lucena City, Quezon

(MVI / SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!