5 countries added to travel ban list

THE Bureau of Immigration (BI) announced the travel restrictions for five more countries starting January 13, 2021.

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said they received an order from Malacanang that foreign passengers coming from Pakistan, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Oman, and the People’s Republic of China will not be allowed to enter the country.

Foreigners coming from the five countries within 14 days from their arrival in the Philippines will be excluded.

“Filipinos will still be allowed entry, subject to a strict 14-day facility-based quarantine, to be implemented by the airport’s one-stop-shop,” Morente said.

This brought the total number of restricted countries to 33.

The government imposed a travel ban on travelers from the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Hong Kong SAR, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, Spain and the United States.

Later included were Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, Brazil and Austria.

“The travel restriction for aliens arriving from these countries will last until January 15, unless otherwise extended or expanded by Malacanang or the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases,” Morente said.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!