THE Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) will revert to the more restrictive general community quarantine (GCQ) for the month of February, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced on Friday, January 29, 2021.

Areas that remain on GCQ from February 1 to 28, 2021 are the National Capital Region (NCR), Batangas, Tacloban City, Davao City, Davao del Norte, Lanao del Sur and Iligan City.

Iloilo City, Santiago City and Isabela province were removed from the list. These three areas will shift to modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) effective February 1.

Cebu City will also remain under MGCQ despite the rising cases of infection.

The rest of the country is under MGCQ.

The Cordillera region is composed of the provinces of Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province.

A cluster of infections with the Sars-CoV-2 B.1.1.7 variant has been detected in Bontoc, Mountain Province. This variant, which emerged in the United Kingdom (UK), is reportedly more contagious. (Marites Villamor-Ilano / SunStar Philippines)