IATF extends travel ban to Western Visayas until April 19

File photo

THE national Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has approved a one-week extension of the temporary travel suspension in Western Visayas from April 13 to 19 from NCR Bubble Plus, Cebu and Davao for returning residents and authorized persons outside residence (Apors).

The suspension does not apply to returning OFWs who will be granted unhampered access.

In a letter addressed to Iloilo City Mayor Jerry Treñas, Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, chair of the National Task Force against Covid-19, cited the IATF in its Resolution No. 108 dated April 2021, that approved the request to temporarily suspend inbound passenger travel from NCR and the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Cebu City and Davao City to Western Visayas until April 19.

"Acknowledging your recent surge in Covid-19 cases and to give you more breathing space to prevent local transmission and protect your health care system from being overwhelmed, the NTF Covid-19 approved the extension of the travel suspension," Lorenzana said.

He further said they have moved the period of effectivity to give due notice to all those planning to travel or are already traveling to Western Visayas. This time must be used to undertake further measures to intensify the enforcement and monitoring of compliance to the minimum public health standards and to strengthen the health care system's capacity.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!