Davao City opens new vaccination hub

IN ADDITION to the two existing Covid-19 vaccination hubs, the Davao City government has designated Buhangin Elementary School as another vaccination center to cater to the Barangay Health Emergency Response Teams (Bherts) starting on Tuesday, April 20, 2021.

The Buhangin Elementary School will be the third vaccination hub set up by the city. The other two are the A. Mabini Elementary School and Magallanes Elementary School.

“On the first two days, the hub will be catering to Bherts assigned in District Health Centers from the First and Second Congressional Districts,” said Dr. Josephine Villafuerte, head of the City’s Vaccination Cluster.

Villafuerte said the district health officers have been instructed to inform the barangays from the first and second congressional districts to send eight actively working Bherts at the vaccination hub.

Bherts from the second congressional district are scheduled to receive their anti-Covid-19 jabs on April 20, while those belonging from the first congressional district are scheduled on April 21.

Bherts are part of the Priority Group A1 for Covid-19 vaccination, under Letter F under government-owned primary care based facilities such as Urban Health Centers, Rural Health Units and Barangay Health Stations, birthing homes, and Local Health Offices to include members of Bherts, contact tracers, and social workers.

Davao City is currently inoculating Priority Group A1 or all workers in health facilities. Facilities or institutions of prioritization, in the following order of precedence, may be sub-prioritized based on (a) historical admission of Covid-19 cases and (b) allocated and occupied Covid-19 beds:

a) Covid-19 referral hospitals designated by the DOH;

b) Public and private hospitals and infirmaries providing Covid-19 care, as prioritized based on service capability, starting from level 3 hospitals, to level 2 to level 1 hospitals, and then infirmaries;

c) Among the hospitals with a common service capability, the order of priority shall be from facilities owned by the DOH, then facilities owned by LGUs, and then facilities owned by private entities;

d) Isolation and quarantine facilities such as temporary treatment and monitoring facilities and converted facilities (e.g. hotels, schools, etc) that cater to Covid-19 suspect, probable, and confirmed cases, close contacts, and travelers in quarantine;

e) Remaining hospitals including facilities of uniformed services not catering to Covid-19 cases;

f) Government-owned primary care based facilities such as Urban Health Centers, Rural Health Units and Barangay Health Stations, birthing homes, and Local Health Offices to include members of Bherts, contact tracers, social workers;

g) Stand-alone facilities, clinics, and diagnostic centers, and other facilities otherwise not specified (e.g. clinics, dialysis centers, dental clinics, and Covid-19 laboratories), dealing with Covid-19 cases, contacts, and specimens for research purposes, screening, and case management coordinated through their respective local government units; and

h) Closed institutions and settings such as, but not limited to, nursing homes, orphanages, jails, detention centers, correctional facilities, drug treatment and rehabilitation centers, and Bureau of Corrections.

The city will proceed to Priority Group A2 or Senior Citizens aged 60 years old and above, right after the Priority Group A1 is completed. (PR)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!