Sunday, November 28, 2021

Negrense spikers selected to NT pool

FOLLOWING the recent national team tryout conducted by the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF), six Negrense spikers successfully convinced the national sports association that they are worthy to be on the final list.

Abanse Negrense Alexa Polidario, Erjane Magdato, and Jennifer Cosas, and Creamline Bernadeth Pons joined the 10-man team in the women beach volleyball alongside 2019 SEA Games hold-overs Sisi Rondina, Dzi Gervacio, and Dij Rodriguez of Creamline; University of Sto. Tomas’ Babylove Barbon, Gen Eslapor and Mer Jauculan.

Also tapped to be part of the beach juniors boys are Negresne Alexander Iraya and Jayrack de la Noche-- both UST standouts. Meanwhile, Leo Ordiales, a National University mainstay ended in the top 25 of the men’s team.

Carmela Arcolas-Gamboa, PNVF Director and Volleyball Association of Negros Island, Inc., thanked Gov. Eugenio ‘Bong’ Lacson, 3rd District Cong. Kiko Benitez, former Rep. Albee Benitez, and son Javi, and Provincial Sports Coordinator for helping them achieve this goal.

On the other hand, PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara said that in selecting the members of the pool, we put into strong consideration the athletes’ skills and potentials to improve, and as importantly, their dedication to flag and country, and their visibly innate qualities.

The pools will start training next month for both the Asian Seniors Women Volleyball Championship the PNVF is hoping to host in August most likely in Clark, and the Hanoi 31st SEA Games set from November 21 to December 2.

Completing the poll include: volleyball men - retained from the 2019 SEA Games Jessie Lopez, Kim Dayadante, Ish Polvorosa, Josh Retamar, Mark Alfafara, Marck Espejo, Bryan Bagunas, Jao Umandal, John Vic de Guzman, Rex Intal, Kim Malabunga, Francis Saura, Jack Kalingking, and Ricky Marcos, alongside Nico Almendras, Ysay Marasigan, Joeven dela Vega, JP Bugaoan, Lloyd Josafat, and Manuel Sumanguid; while for volleyball women - SEAG standouts Mylene Paat, Eya Laure, Aby Maraño, and Majoy Baron, together with Iris Tolenada, Kamille Cal, Faith Nisperos, Ivy Lacsina, Mhicaela Belen, Alyssa Solomon, Jaja Santiago, Dell Palomata, Ria Meneses, Imee Hernandez, Jennifer Nierva, and Bernadette Pepito.

For the beach volleyball men are SEAG holdovers Jude Garcia, Jaron Requinton, James Buytrago, and Ranran Abdilla, alongside Anthony Arbasto, Philip Bagalay, Jade Becaldo, Calvin Sarte, James Pecaña, and AJ Pareja. (JSG)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!