Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Libre: Buwan sa Musikang Bisaya

Free Verse

If no one dares declare it, I will. May is “Buwan sa Musikang Bisaya.” It should be the month when radio stations air more Bisaya songs, when local government units make programs that promote their musicians, and when awards of recognition are given to outstanding talents and works. The Cebu Siloy Music Awards has been doing the last item in the past four years.

Unlike the Cebu Pop Music Festival, or the Vispop, the Cebu Siloy Music Awards isn’t a songwriting contest. It is meant to give more public awareness to dedicated musicians who have given their best in their craft.

On May 28, I will host in Facebook (FB) Live in the FB group B Orig the awarding of winners in the various categories. I’ve invited some friends who have confirmed their appearances. These include Sakdap, Ferdinand Aragon, Rolly Wagas, Troy Degamo of 40-The Band and Auckland-based singer-songwriter Kayth Alex who will open the show with the original song “Siloy.” Also joining are multi-awarded composer Jimmy Borja and Cebu cultural/history advocate Agripina Guivelondo.

The special award – Siloy Bahanding Awit – will be handed to composer Paul Melendez for the song “Make Believe” popularized by Marco Sison. Award-winning conductor and choirmaster Dennis Gregory Sugarol will present the Siloy to Melendez. It will be the first ever public performance of the Bisaya version of the classic ballad with lyrics written by Melendez to be sung by Sugarol.

Oh! Caraga leads the nominees, vying in four categories. Cata Mauria Pama, Alfa and Reon each earned three nominations, including Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

Among the nominees are Vocal Performance, Group: Mandaue Nights x Cookie$ x JID Durano x Fonzy — “Strobe Lights”; Fin & Fil - “Wampipti”; Jong & Pxrple – “Lebel”; Mampor&Me – “Ferris Wheel”; Oh! Caraga — “Wa Gyuy Nagdahum”; Reon - “Suyo”; Xanu Angels - “Boholana.” Collaboration of the Year: All Star – “Balik sa Bohol”; Kadasig Artists — “Ipanumpa Ko Frontliner Tribute”; Oh! Caraga & Davey Langit – “Bai!”; Various Artists, Cebu Citizens Initiative – “Kinsa Pa Man Diay”; Various Bisaya Artists – “Dungan”; Vincent Eco & Mary Anchit – “Ibog”; Wonggoys featuring Lourdes – “Wingman.” Event of the Year: Cebu Pop Music Festival 2020, Dasig Bisaya, Homegrown Instagram Takeover, Homegrown Covers, Minpop2020, Philpop2020

What time are the Cebu Music Awards?

The awards show will air live on FB Live at FB group, B Orig on May 28 from Hamilton, New Zealand at 9 p.m. NZ time or 5 p.m. PHL time.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Create your own user feedback survey