Tuesday, September 28, 2021

BI: Tourists still not allowed in Philippines

BUREAU of Immigration (BI) Commissioner Jaime Morente announced that the agency will be implementing the extended travel ban on travelers coming from seven countries due to emerging Covid-19 variants.

The BI stated that passengers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman and UAE are still not allowed to enter until June 15 following the pronouncement of Malacanang.

“Those who have a travel history from said countries within the last 14 days from the date of their arrival in the Philippines, will also be prohibited from entering the country,” said Morente.

“However, those who will only be transiting in the region, meaning they will not exit the airport and will not be cleared by immigration authorities there, and will only be landing for a layover, may be allowed to enter the Philippines,” he added.

BI Port Operations Division (POD) Chief Carlos Capulong reiterated that foreign nationals entering the country for tourism purposes are still not allowed.

“Only Filipinos, Balikbayans, and foreign nationals with valid and existing visas who are not coming from the 7 restricted countries may be allowed to enter the Philippines,” said Capulong. “Those who will be entering under a 9(a) Temporary Visitors’ Visa or a Special Resident Retirees Visa would need to present an entry exemption document to be allowed to enter,” Capulong said.

With the aggressive vaccination drive of the government, Morente expressed hope that travel restrictions will ease in the latter part of the year.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!