Thursday, June 24, 2021

Covid-19 hazard pay granted to state workers in MECQ areas

SunStar File

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has approved the grant of P500 per day Covid-19 hazard pay to government employees who are authorized to physically report for work in areas under and modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ).

Administrative Order No. 43, which Duterte signed on June 1, said local government units (LGUs) down to the barangays, and government-owned and controlled corporations (GOCCs) that don’t have enough funds may grant a lower but uniform rate to qualified employees.

Entitled to receive the hazard pay are personnel of national government agencies, state universities and colleges, and GOCCs.

The hazard pay may be granted to authorized personnel without need for approval of the Department of Budget and Management

This new directive amended AO 26 granting hazard pay to government frontliners in areas under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ), the most stringent form of community quarantine. MECQ is less stringent than ECQ but restrictions are relaxed only a bit.

Under MECQ until June 15 are Santiago City, Cagayan, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa City, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City and Butuan City and Agusan del Sur. (Third Anne Peralta-Malonzo / SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!