Friday, September 24, 2021

NCR, 4 provinces placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions

File photo

THE National Capital Region (NCR) will revert to general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions from July 23, 2021 to July 31, 2021, Malacañang announced.

Also placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions are Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur, which were previously under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) until the end of July.

In these areas, children five years old and above will not be allowed to go to outdoor areas. IATF Resolution No. 125 (s.2021) allows children outdoors only in areas under GCQ and MGCQ.

Davao de Oro and Davao del Norte were downgraded to GCQ with heightened restrictions from MECQ, while Davao del Sur, which was previously MECQ, is placed under GCQ.

“To enable the safe continuity of economic activities, the IATF asked establishments to consider developing and converting more outdoor spaces into temporary outdoor weekend markets and dining spaces and permanently accessible urban green spaces, outdoor recreational spaces and public sanitation facilities,” Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque Jr. said in a statement.

The IATF earlier placed Iloilo Province and Iloilo City, Cagayan de Oro City, Gingoog City and Misamis Oriental under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until July 31, 2021.

The province of Antique is under GCQ with heightened restrictions.

Under GCQ until July 31, 2021 are Baguio City and Apayao in the Cordillera Administrative Region; City of Santiago, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino in Cagayan Valley; Bulacan in Central Luzon; Cavite, Rizal, Quezon and Batangas in Calabarzon; Puerto Princesa in Mimaropa; Guimaras and Negros Occidental in Western Visayas; Zamboanga Sibugay, City of Zamboanga and Zamboanga del Norte; Davao Oriental; General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, Cotabato and South Cotabato in Soccsksargen; Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, and Surigao del Sur in Caraga; and Cotabato City in Bangsamoro.

Bataan in Central Luzon; Davao Occidental and Davao del Sur in Davao Region; and Butuan City in Caraga are under MECQ until the end of the month. (Third Anne Peralta-Malonzo / SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!