Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Mayors want Metro Manila placed under ECQ

MANILA. The Manila City Hall stands beside an almost empty road as the government implements a strict lockdown to prevent the spread of the coronavirus on Good Friday, April 2, 2021 in Manila, Philippines. (AP)

THE Metro Manila Council (MMC) is pushing for the reimposition of a two-week enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) in the National Capital Region (NCR) to prevent the further spread of the highly transmissible Delta variant.

Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman Benhur Abalos on Thursday, July 29, 2021, said they have passed a resolution recommending the more stringent measures for the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases.

He said the resolution will be submitted to the IATF during its meeting on Thursday afternoon, July 29.

Metro Manila is under general community quarantine with heightened restrictions until August 15, 2021.

“The ideal is really to have an ECQ for two weeks of course depending if the funds of the government are available of the national government because we cannot do an ECQ without an ayuda or financial assistance especially to the poor,” Abalos said in a virtual press conference.

“Kung hindi talaga pwede iyon we must add more restrictions to the GCQ with heightened restrictions... Kung pwede wala munang dine-in, puro take out nalang muna, let’s restrict the mobility of the people,” he added.

Abalos said the MMC is also asking for additional vaccines in the NCR to accelerate vaccinations.

“Ayaw na namin hintayin pa na mapuno ang hospital although sa ngayon ang sinasabi nila moderate pero we will not wait for that,” he said.

Abalos urged workers to work from home if possible to avoid exposure.

He also reminded the public not to go into home quarantine.

In a separate press conference, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque Jr. said they welcome the MMC resolution but the decision lies with President Rodrigo Duterte, especially on the availability of funds for social amelioration.

“Hindi ko po alam if meron tayong pang-ayuda,” he said.

From August 1 to 7, Iloilo City and Province, Cagayan de Oro City and Gingoog City in Misamis Oriental will remain under ECQ.

Ilocos Norte, Bataan and the cities of Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu will be under modified ECQ.

The NCR, Ilocos Sur, Cagayan, Bulacan, Laguna, Lucena City, Cavite, Rizal, Naga City, Antique, Aklan, Bacolod City, Capiz, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Sur, Misamis Oriental, Davao Citd, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental and Butuan City were placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions until August 15.

Areas under GCQ until August 31 are Baguio City, Apayao, City of Santiago, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Quezon, Batangas, Puerto Princesa, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, City of Zamboanga, Zamboanga del Norte, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Sur and Cotabato City.

The rest of the country is under modified GCQ. (SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!