Monday, October 25, 2021

AFP identifies all 50 soldiers who died in plane crash

THE Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) has identified all the 50 soldiers who perished in the C-130 plane crash in Patikul, Sulu, the military said on Friday, August 20, 2021.

Among those recently identified were Corporal Dexter Estrada, Reynel Matundin and Gulam Ismael; Private First Class Bengie Malanog; Private Ian Azuelo, Erwin Canton, Mansueto Lingatong III, Mar Jhun Capagngan and Michael Dalore. All were from the Philippine Army.

The remains for Airman Second Class Glen Mar Biscocho from the Philippine Air Force have also been identified.

They were among the military personnel whose bodies were charred beyond recognition during the crash.

“The AFP has already transported the remains of the personnel to their hometowns so they can be reunited with their families,” the AFP said.

A total of 53 people, consisting of 50 soldiers and three civilians, were killed during the plane crash on July 4, 2021. There were 46 other soldiers and four other civilians who were injured.

The cause of the incident has not been established as the plane’s black box was brought to the United States for examination. (Third Anne Peralta-Malonzo / SunStar Philippines)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!