Sunday, October 17, 2021

No endorsement yet from NPC national on bets

VICTORY DAY. Negros Occidental Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson during the commemoration of the 76th Negros Island Victory Day at the Provincial Capitol Lagoon and Park in Bacolod City Thursday, September 9, 2021. (Capitol Photo)

NEGROS Occidental Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson on Thursday, September 9, 2021, said the Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC) has no official endorsement yet as to whom they will be supporting among the possible presidential candidates for the May 9, 2022 elections.

Lacson said he asked some NPC officials, who arrived in the province last week for the Christening of the twin sons of Former Deputy Speaker Mercedes Alvarez, but they did not mention any official endorsement.

Senate President Vicente Sotto, III who is an NPC official, already declared his vice-presidential bid in tandem with Senator Panfilo Lacson, who is eyeing the presidential post.

"Even then there is no official instruction yet from the national party," Lacson said.

Lacson clarified that he was not among those governors who signed a resolution urging President Rodrigo Duterte to run for Vice President, adding that he will wait for the official list of candidates after the filing of Certificate of Candidacy (COC) before deciding on the matter.

In a statement, some of the provincial governors said the administration’s Covid-19 response is “succeeding” and they want the next President to be guided by Duterte particularly in the fight against illegal drugs and the prevailing pandemic.

Among the governors who signed the statement of support were Daniel Fernando (Bulacan), Aurelio Umali (Nueva Ecija), Edgar Gadiano (Occidental Mindoro), Pepito Alvarez (Palawan), Edwin Ong (Northern Samar), Ben Evardone (Eastern Samar), Arthur Defensor, Jr. (Iloilo), Antonio Kho (Masbate), Abdusakur Tan (Sulu), Zaldy Villa (Siquijor), Bonz Dolor (Oriental Mindoro) and Edgar Tallado (Camarines Norte).

Also signatories are governors Imelda Dimaporo (Lanao del Norte), Ryan Singson (Ilocos Sur), Dakila Cua (Quirino), Florencio Miraflores (Aklan), Art Yap (Bohol), Bai Mariam Mangudadatu (Maguindanao), Suharto Mangudadatu (Sultan Kudarat), Damian Mercado (Southern Leyte), Micheal Tan (Western Samar), Rogelio Espina Jr. (Biliran), Esteban Evan Contreras (Capiz) and Victor Yu (Zamboanga del Sur).


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!