Thursday, December 09, 2021

10 sure winners, 17 reelectionist mayors in Cebu

AT LEAST 10 candidates for the 2022 elections in Cebu are considered sure winners after data from the Commission on Elections show they are running unopposed.

The Certified Lists of Candidates gathered by SunStar Cebu so far also show that at least 17 mayors in Cebu are running for reelection while at least three mayors are seeking the lower vice mayoral post next year.

The 2022 elections will be stress-free for Boljoon mayoral candidate Jojie Navarro Derama and vice mayoral candidate and reelectionist Ervin Villanueva, both of One Cebu party, as well as for Ronda’s mayoral candidate Terence Mariano Yap Blanco and vice mayoral candidate Rocky Gabatan, both of One Cebu/Nationalist People’s Coalition, as there are no challengers for the positions they are vying for.

Those who run unopposed need only one vote to win.

Also running unopposed are Mariano Laude (Nacionalista Party) for Sibonga vice mayor, Neil Tracy Plando (One Cebu) for Alcoy vice mayor, reelectonist Raisa Go Moreno (One Cebu) for Aloguinsan vice mayor, reelectionist Juan Alfonso Lim (One Cebu) for Medellin vice mayor, and Emmarie Ouano-Dizon (Partido Demokratiko Pilpino Lakas ng Bayan) for the congressional district of the Lone District of Mandaue.

Talisay City Mayor Gerald Anthony “Samsam” Gullas Jr. also announced earlier that he was running unopposed for a congressional seat in Cebu’s First District.

Reelectionist mayors

In Cebu, at least 17 mayors are also running for reelection, some having just one challenger, and others having as many as three to four challengers for the post.

Reelectionist mayors facing only one challenger are Madridejos Mayor Salvador dela Fuente (Nacionalita Party), who will face Romeo Villaceran (National Unity Party); and Tabuelan Mayor Raul Gerona (National Unity Party), who will face a challenge from Fe Oca (Partido Pilipino sa Pagbabago).

In Dumanjug, Mayor Efren Guntrano “Gungun” Gica (One Cebu/Nationalist People’s Coalition) will face off against challenger Rizalina “Linlin” Zozobrado (Independent).

Alcoy Mayor Michael Angelo Sestoso (One Cebu) will face off against Jose Eugenio Singson Jr. (Partido Para sa Demokratikong Reporma).

Aloguinsan Mayor Cesare Ignatius Go Moreno (One Cebu) will face off against Roel Pacaldo Manguilimotan (Independent).

Carmen Mayor Carlo Villamor (One Cebu) will face Antonio Awing (Barog Alang sa Kauswagan ug Demokrasya).

Catmon Mayor Iris Gestopa (Barug Alang sa Kauswagan ug Demokrasya) will be challenged by Avis Monleon (One Cebu).

Daanbantayan Mayor Sun Shimura (National Unity Party) will face off against Renillo Gullem (Partido Pilipino sa Pagbabago).

Medellin Mayor Joven Mondigo Jr. (One Cebu) will be challenged by Francis Sucro (Independent).

Bogo City Mayor Carlo Jose Martinez (Partido Pilipino sa Pagbabago) will face a challenge from Daphne Salimbangon (National Unity Party).

Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes (Partido Demokratiko Pilipino Lakas ng Bayan) faces off with Nilo Seno (Nationalist People’s Coalition).

Samboan Mayor Emerito “Doc Tito” Calderon Jr. (NPC/One Cebu), who was elected vice mayor but assumed the position of mayor after his father’s death from heart failure in December 2020, will run for mayor with Aguinaldo Briones (Reporma) as challenger.

Having two challengers for the mayoral post are City of Naga Mayor Kristine Vanessa Chiong (NP-Alayon), who will face Venci del Mar (Abag Promdi) and Delfin Señor (Pederalismo ng Dugong Dakilang Samahan); Sibonga Mayor Lionel Bacaltos (Nacionalista Party), who will face a challenge from Eutiquio Vilocura Jr. (Independent) and Tito Satera (Promdi).

Also having two challengers are Santander Mayor Marites Buscato (One Cebu), who will face Mary Ann Aseñas (Lakas Christian Muslim Democrats) and Rajeni Dy (Partido para sa Demokratikong Reporma); and Badian Mayor Carmencita Lumain (One Cebu), who will face Cielito Suerte (Partido Pilipino sa Pagbabago) and Mark Jorolan (Independent).

Facing three challengers is Santa Fe Mayor Ithamar Espinosa (National Unity Party), who will have to fend off Jose Esgana (Partido Para sa Demokratikong Reporma), Naomi Espinosa (Partido Pilipino sa Pagbabago) and Wilfredo Salise (Independent) to keep the post.

But facing four challengers is the mayor of Cordova town.

Cordova Mayor Mary Therese “Teche” Sitoy-Cho (PDP-Laban/One Cebu) will face Bribon Briones (Independent), Sherly Pogoy Sefuesca (Independent), Marietto “Adidoy” Suan (Independent) and Cesar “Didoy” Suan (Lakas Christian Muslim Democrats) in the 2022 polls.

At least three Cebu mayors will not seek reelection to the same post. Instead, they will run for vice mayor in the 2022 polls.

These are Tabogon Mayor Zigfred P. Duterte, Malabuyoc Mayor Lito Narciso Creus (One Cebu) and Pinamungajan Mayor Glenn Baricuatro (One Cebu).

Cebu has 44 towns and nine cities.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Create your own user feedback survey