NINETY-SEVEN aspirants for president and 28 vice presidential hopefuls made it to the tentative list of aspirants/candidates for the May 2022 polls that was released by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) Friday, October 29.

In a post on its official website, the Comelec also included in the list 174 aspirants for senators, as well as the local candidates.

"The tentative list of aspirants/candidates for the May 9, 2022 national and local elections are based on the initial evaluation of the Certificates of Nomination, Certificates of Candidacy, and Certificates of Nomination and Acceptance," said the Comelec.

Prominent names in the list for presidential aspirants are Senator Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa (PDP-Laban), Manila Mayor Francisco “Isko Moreno” Domagoso (Aksyon Demokratiko), former National Security Adviser Norberto Gonzales (Partido Demokratiko Sosyalista ng Pilipinas), labor leader Leody de Guzman (Partido Lakas ng Masa), Senator Panfilo “Ping” Lacson (Partido sa Demokratikong Reporma), former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. (Partido Federal ng Pilipinas), Senator Manny Pacquiao (Promdi), and Vice President Leni Robredo (Independent).

As for vice presidential aspirants, included are Representative Lito Atienza (Promdi), former congressman Walden Bello (Partido Lakas ng Masa), Senator Christopher “Bong” Go (PDP-Laban), Dr. Willie Ong (Aksyon Demokratiko), Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan (Liberal Party), and Senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III (Nationalist People's Coalition).

In the list of senatorial bets are former representative Teddy Baguilat, former mayor Herbert Bautista, former Vice President Jejomar Binay, Representative Alan Peter Cayetano, former representative Neri Colmenares, Senator Leila de Lima, former representative Monsour del Rosario, human rights lawyer Chel Diokno, former senator JV Ejercito, former senator Chiz Escudero, former senator Jinggoy Estrada, Senator Win Gatchalian, Senator Dick Gordon, former senator Gringo Honasan, Senator Risa Hontiveros, labor leader Elmer Labog, broadcaster Rey Langit, former senator Loren Legarda, labor leader Sonny Matula, doctors Leo Olarte and Minguita Padilla, actor Robin Padilla, former presidential legal counsel Salvador Panelo, former Defense secretary Gilberto “Gibo” Teodoro, former senator Antonio Trillanes, broadcaster Raffy Tulfo, Senator Joel Villanueva, former public works secretary Mark Villar, and Senator Migz Zubiri.

The Comelec said the list may still change depending on further assessment and possible filing of disqualification cases or petition to deny due course against particular candidates.

"The contents of the list, particularly the names of the aspirants/candidates, political parties, as well as the name to appear on the ballot are subject to change as a result of any further evaluation and/or resolution of the Commission En Banc," said the Comelec.

Here's the tentative list of aspirants for national positions:

See the list for local positions.

In his Twitter account, Comelec spokesman James Jimenez advised aspirants to check if their names are on the list and is spelled correctly.

"Aspirants, whose names appear on the tentative list of candidates released by the Comelec, have until November 8 to submit their requests for correction of typographical errors in their listed names," said the poll official.

Jimenez had earlier said that they expect to have the final list of candidates around December.

It was back in October 1 to 8 when the Comelec held the filing of certificates of candidacy for the May 2022 polls. (HDT/SunStar Philippines)