THE Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases placed Catanduanes province under Alert Level 4 starting November 17 until November 30.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced this Monday, November 15, adding that Baguio City and Siquijor will be under Alert Level 3 from November 15 to 30.

Also under Level 3 are Batanes, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, City of Isabela and Zamboanga City from November 17 to 30.

Areas under Alert Level 2 until end of the month, meanwhile, include Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan, Ilocos Norte, Tacloban, Southern Leyte, Samar, Ormoc City, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Leyte, Biliran, South Cotabato, Sarangani, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, and Cotabato (North Cotabato).

The implementation of the new alert level in these areas is effective immediately, said Roque.

Also under Alert Level 2, effective November 15 until 30, are the National Capital Region, Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Aurora, Pampanga, Bulacan, Tarlac, Zambales, Olongapo, Angeles City, Rizal, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Quezon, Lucena City, Bacolod City, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Antique, Aklan, Iloilo Province, Guimaras, Negros Oriental, Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu City, Mandaue City, Cebu Province, Bohol, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Oriental, Iligan City, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental, Davao City, Davao del Sur and Davao Oriental.

The City of Santiago, Cagayan, Isabela, Albay, Sorsogon, Naga City, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Masbate, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay and Zamboanga del Sur are also under Alert Level 2, which will take effect staring Wednesday, November 17, until end of the month.

The nationwide implementation of the Alert Level System (ALS) was approved by President Rodrigo Duterte last November 11 when he signed Executive Order (EO) 151.

The EO stated that the ALS will be undertaken in four phases and that the Omnibus Guidelines for the Implementation of Community Quarantine in the Philippines, which were approved through EO 112, series of 2020, will remain in effect in all areas not yet placed under the ALS.

Duterte tasked the IATF to amend or modify the guidelines set for the implementation of the ALS. (SunStar Philippines)