PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte approved Monday, November 15, 2021, the Inter-Agency Task Force's (IATF) recommendation to make "voluntary" the wearing of face shield in areas under Alert Levels 3, 2 and 1.

Local government units (LGUs) and private establishments in areas under Alert Level 4, however, were given the discretion to mandate the use of face shield as added protection against the coronavirus disease (Covid-19).

Alert Level 4 will be implemented in Catanduanes province starting Wednesday, November 17, until November 30.

A memorandum signed by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea on Monday also stated that for areas under Alert Level 5 and granular lockdowns, "the use of face shield in community settings shall be mandatory."

The IATF made these recommendations through Resolution 148-D, series of 2021, which was issued on November 11, 2021.

Medialdea said in the memorandum that the above protocols "are without prejudice to the continuing mandatory use of face shields in medical and quarantine facility settings, and the required use thereof by healthcare workers in healthcare settings."

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced Monday morning that Baguio City and Siquijor will be placed under Alert Level 3 from November 15 to 30.

Also under Level 3 are Batanes, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, City of Isabela and Zamboanga City from November 17 to 30.

Areas under Alert Level 2 until end of the month, meanwhile, include Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan, Ilocos Norte, Tacloban, Southern Leyte, Samar, Ormoc City, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Leyte, Biliran, South Cotabato, Sarangani, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, and Cotabato (North Cotabato).

Also under Alert Level 2, effective November 15 until 30, are the National Capital Region, Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Aurora, Pampanga, Bulacan, Tarlac, Zambales, Olongapo, Angeles City, Rizal, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Quezon, Lucena City, Bacolod City, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Antique, Aklan, Iloilo Province, Guimaras, Negros Oriental, Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu City, Mandaue City, Cebu Province, Bohol, Cagayan de Oro City, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Misamis Oriental, Iligan City, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Occidental, Davao City, Davao del Sur and Davao Oriental.

The City of Santiago, Cagayan, Isabela, Albay, Sorsogon, Naga City, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Masbate, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay and Zamboanga del Sur are also under Alert Level 2, which will take effect starting Wednesday, November 17, until end of the month. (SunStar Philippines)