AT LEAST 29 newly constructed houses were turn over to the indigent families in Samar towns, following the "Pangarap na Bahay, Pulis ang Aalalay, Pamayanan ay Kaagapay" project of the Samar Police Provincial Office (SPPO).

Brigadier General Rommel Bernardo Cabagnot, police regional director, lauded the initiative of then-SPPO director Colonel Glenn Oliver Cinco and to incumbent director Colonel Peter Limbauan for pursuing the project until its full completion.

“You are not only leading your men and women into the attainment of our organization’s mission and vision, but you also take good care of the community you are serving,” said Cabagnot.

“I hope this best practice of yours be replicated to other provinces and let us help each other to achieve a compassionate, peaceful, and safer place to live in,” the official added.

In Catbalogan City, Wilfred Gonzales was teary-eyed as he thanked the police officers for their new house, which was turned over to them on Thursday, November 18, 2021.

Major Shidie Bitanga, the chaplain of the Philippine Army’s 8th Infantry Division, also led the blessing ceremony of the house given to Gonzales.

The event was attended by Alma Austero from the Provincial Social Welfare and Development Office, Lieutenant Colonel Ma. Bella Rentuaya from the Office of the Regional Community Affairs and Development Division, Forester Angelito B Villanueva from the Office of the Provincial Environment and Natural Resources, and Barangay officials of San Pablo, Catbalogan.

According to the regional police command, the project aimed to provide decent housing to identified poor families in the province.

“It was also an avenue for the stakeholders and government agencies to be of help and show compassion to the neediest members of the community,” it said.

The housing project, which was launched on August 30, 2021, were constructed by personnel of SPPO headquarters, 1st and 2nd Samar Provincial Mobile Force Companies, the Calbayog and Catbalogan City Police Stations, the municipal police stations of Almagro, Basey, Calbiga, Daram, Gandara, Hinabangan, Jiabong, Marabut, Matuguinao, Motiong, Pagsanghan, Paranas, Pinabacdao, San Jorge, San Jose de Buan, San Sebastian, Sta. Margarita, Sta. Rita, Sto. Niño, Tagapul-an, Talalora, Tarangnan, Villarreal, and Zumarraga. (SunStar Philippines)