Sunday, December 05, 2021

SunStar editor-in-chief, others named environmental champs

SUNSTAR Bacolod editor-in-chief Erwin Nicavera and several others were named "environmental conservationists" by the Provincial Government of Negros Occidental, through the Provincial Environment Management Office (Pemo), at the Negros Residences in Bacolod City on November 24 and 23.

Nicavera, Barbara Mijares of Digicast and Max Macahilo of the Visayan Daily Star were awarded from the media during the Negros Occidental Governor's Conservationist Achievement Award for Individual Conservationists.

Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson, Board Member Rita Gatuslao, Provincial Administrator Rayfrando Diaz II, Executive Assistants to the Governor Charina Magallanes-Tan and Marie June Castro, and Pemo head Atty. Julie Ann Bedrio led the awarding rites.

For the academe individual category, the awardees are Marsette Sabbaluca, Dannie Clark Uguil, Anthony Liobet, Arlene Bermeo, Ma. Lorlinie Ortillo, Gladys Amylaine Sales, Allan Yap, Neri Anne Alibuyog, Portia Mallorca, Jolly Gariando Jr., Denrose Entierro, Rhoderick Samonte, Jayrelle Sy, Roger Ray Manzano, Josephine Salillas, Jeniffer Tingson, Desiree Diel, Plaridel Tizon Jr., Rodolfo Reveche, Romeo Teruel, Manuel Eduardo de la Paz, Aladino Moraca, Mae Flor Posadas, Pilipinas Ma. Jareno, Noel Dayono, Mary Ann Dagunan, Denmark Yonson, and Russell Gorre.

Non-government organization (NGO) awardees are Errol Gatumbato, Lisa Paguntalan, and Philip Godfrey Jakosalem of the Philippines Biodiversity Conservation Foundation Inc., Fr. Chris Gonzales of Bacolod City Diocese Social Action Center, Gerardo Ledesma and Dave Albao of the Philippine Reef and Rainforest Conservation Foundation Inc.

Also awardees from the NGO sector are Joshua Villalobos and Maria Krishna Ariola of Youth for Climate Hope, Nelson Mojica, Jr. of Save Northern Negros Natural Park, Terence Paul Dacles of GIZ, David Castor of Talarak Foundation Inc., and Roseo Depra of Negros Economic Development Foundation, Incorporated.

Other individual awardees representing the province's alliances and leaders of People's Organizations are EnP Leo Chua, Armela Waldato, Marilou Penafiel, Marcel Irrisari, Roger Cadigal, Rodolfo Lovino, Chum Regonel, Rey Jason Nacional, Richard Aquino, Joery Magdasal, Jesus Siasico, Cherry Sarnate, Eduardo Villanueva, Ma. Elma Caborubias, Henry Astodillo, Jr., Zaldy Reliquias, Neil Priolo, Ninfa Benitua, and Mary Joy Tabayan.

"These awards are affirmations of what you are doing right. May this event renew our commitment and propel us to do more, -- for the environment, for the future, and for the generations next," Lacson said.

On Tuesday, the provincial government also held the Abanse Babaye para sa Dunang Manggad Awards.

It is one of the categories organized by Pemo, and is given to outstanding Negrense women who played key role in environmental stewardship, support women's leadership in decision making, and promote positive impact in conserving the environment.

Lacson said that humanity is presently pressed and threatened on almost every side, and there is a lag on efforts to save the environment, which endangers the future.

He said that the Governor's Conservation Achievement Award is the provincial government's way of recognizing the contributions of special bodies, individuals, LGUs, women and Inter-LGU alliances.

The awardees for the Academe were Maritess Rivera, Annabelle Alipoon, Ma. Tressa Elbanbuena, Maribel Gonzales, Sharon Bermejo, Amabel Subong, Maryvic Pedrosa, Gliceria Garancho, Anna Liza and Santillana.

For the NGO category, the awardees were Carmela Ellaga, Kimberly Casipe, Maria Therese Balaan, and Loelyn Castillo.

Under the LGU Category, the awardees were Mary Ann Pabalate, Rosemary Estellina, Erlita Chua, Jenny Sarmiento Valencia, Margarita Francisco, Shirley Nacion, Mirriam Gargarita, Ma. Elisa Ebojo, Ana Mae Claro, Rosalinda Canoso, Leonila Orleans, Aida Gando, April Joy Arroyo, and Rosebella Malo; Posthumous Awardees are Lucille Titular and Rubylene de Paula.

The Best Managed LCA is Brgy. Ermita Marine Protected Area, Binalbagan Coastal Wetlands Conservation Area, Campomanes - Ballo Marine Reserve and Sanctuary; Best LCA Initiatives are Hulao-hulao, Caliling, Cauayan Coastal Conservation Area, E.B. Magalona Blue Crab Sanctuary and Mangrove Reserve, and Pontevedra Coastal Wetlands Conservation Area.

On Monday, November 29, the province will also be recognizing the LGUs who are also considered "champions" in environment protection and conservation. (With Capitol reports)


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!