THE Pampanga Press Club (PPC), one of the oldest and most prestigious media organizations in the country, has elected its new set of officers and board of directors during an election over the weekend in Clark Freeport.

The new set of officers is led by Noel Tulabut of SunStar Pampanga, who will serve as PPC President from 2022 to 2024.

Other officers-elect are Minerva Arceo (SunStar Pampanga, Executive Vice-President), Ria Isidro-De Fiesta (Pampanga News Now, Secretary), Marna Dagumboy Del Rosario (Philippines News Agency, Treasurer) Charlene Cayabyab (SunStar Pampanga, Auditor) and Rendy Isip (Pampanga News Now, Business Manager).

The Board of PPC Directors will now be headed by outgoing president Tonette Orejas as chairperson (Philippine Daily Inquirer), with Astrud Aguinaldo (PNN), Jojo Due (The Voice), Rey Navales (SunStar Pampanga), Eric Jimenez (The Observer) and Rudy Abular (Abante Tonite) as members.

Orejas, the first woman president of the PPC since it was established in 1949, expressed confidence in Tulabut’s leadership.

“Pampanga Press Club will be in good hands under Noel’s term,” she said, adding that, "He can expect my support, as chairman of the Board of Directors, in steering PPC into the right direction.”

Tulabut is a long-time columnist of SunStar Pampanga. He also wrote for The Voice, national broadsheets Today Newspaper and Business Mirror. One of the highlights of his career is his coverage of UN General Assembly in New York where he elevated local media to global front from 2004 to 2009. He was also the former Communications Manager of Clark Development Corporation.

For his part, Tulabut thanked the support of members especially the pillars of the PPC that includes Max Sangil, Bong Lacson and Perry Pangan.

He aims to continue the programs started by Orejas especially on members’ welfare upliftment. Part of his endeavors is continuing education for members where traditional media outlets will be made ready for the challenges brought by online and digitalization formats.