AT LEAST eight local roads in Southern Leyte have been converted to national highways, according to the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH).

“I’m honored to be part of this milestone for our beloved province,” said DPWH Southern Leyte District Engineer Manolo Rojas.

“With the recent promulgation, the people of Southern Leyte can look forward to improved accessibility and reduced travel time, leading to enhanced productivity in the province,” he added.

The converted local roads include Asuncion, Maasin City-Buenavista, Bontoc-Bdry. Hilongos Road (Maasin-Bontoc); Maujo, Malitbog-Bagtican, Maasin City Road (Maasin-Malitbog); Bil-atan, San Ricardo-San Roque, Liloan Road; Mahayahay, Saint Bernard-Badiangon, Hinunangan Road; Ichon, Macrohon-Sangahon, Malitbog Road; San Isidro, Tomas Oppus-Libertad, Maasin City Road; Tunga-Tunga-Matin-ao-Cansirong Road; and Sto. Rosario- Guadalupe-Panan-awan Road.

In a statement, the DPWH said the conversion of the local roads to national highways would “spur economic development and opportunities in rural communities.”

As a result of this conversion, the National Government, through the DPWH, would take the responsibility for the maintenance of the roads.

With paved and duly maintained road network, commerce and trade would be enhanced, according to DPWH.

The conversion of the eight local roads was made through the efforts of DPWH Secretary Roger Mercado.