Overcast: Star-less 79th Golden Globe Awards goes on

Overcast: Star-less 79th Golden Globe Awards goes on

The 79th Golden Globe Awards traded a star-studded telecast—which regularly draws about 18 million viewers annually—for a live-blog instead Sunday night, Jan. 9, 2022 (PH time).

The Golden Globe Awards is defined by Britannica as “presented annually by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) in recognition of outstanding achievement in motion pictures and television during the previous year.”

The Globes are considered by entertainment critics and fans alike as the second most important awards after the Oscars (film) and Emmys (television). This year’s event, which lasted about an hour and a half, was held behind closed doors at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The HFPA announced the winners via their social media accounts.


While many may see the skipping of “Hollywood’s so-called biggest party” as a response to the recent Covid-19 surge in the United States, there is also reason to believe that this was the result of the backlash the HFPA is getting due to the “lack of diversity and questionable ethics policies,” according to a report by the Associated Press (AP).

“The HFPA said it has taken steps to address concerns,” the AP article stated.

Here are the winners in key categories for the 79th Golden Globe Awards:

Best Drama: “The Power of the Dog”

Best Comedy or Musical: “West Side Story”

Best Actor, Drama: Will Smith, “King Richard”

Best Actress, Drama: Nicole Kidman, “Being the Ricardos”

Best Actor, Comedy or Musical: Andrew Garfield, “Tick, Tick... Boom!”

Best Actress, Comedy or Musical: Rachel Zegler, “West Side Story”

Best Director: Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog”

Best Screenplay: Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast”

Best Animated Film: “Encanto”

Best Non-English Language: “Drive My Car”

Best Original Score: Hans Zimmer, “Dune”

Best Original Song: Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell for “No Time to Die” from “No Time to Die”

Best TV Drama Series: “Succession”

Best TV Comedy/Musical Series: “Hacks”

Best Actor, TV Drama: Jeremy Strong, “Succession”

Best Actress, TV Drama: Mj Rodriguez, “Pose”

Best Actor, TV Comedy/Musical: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Best Actress, TV Comedy/Musical: Jean Smart, “Hacks”

Best Actor, TV Movie or Limited Series: Michael Keaton, “Dopesick”

Best Actress, TV movie or Limited Series: Kate Winslet, “Mare of Easttown”

Best TV Movie or Limited Series: “The Underground Railroad”


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.