THE Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases has allowed the entry of returning overseas Filipinos who recently recovered from coronavirus disease (Covid-19) but still tested positive in the mandatory pre-departure reverse transcription-polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) test.

Acting Presidential Spokesperson Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles said on Friday, January 21, 2022, that these individuals are subject to the following protocols in lieu of a negative RT-PCR test:

* Present a positive RT-PCR test taken within 48 hours prior to the departure from country of origin.

* Present a medical certificate issued by a licensed physician stating that the traveler has completed the mandatory quarantine period, he/she is no longer infectious and he/she is already allowed free movement or travel.

* Undergo a facility-based quarantine applicable to them based on the quarantine classification of the country of origin and passenger’s vaccination status.

“However, if fully vaccinated and coming from green list countries/territories/jurisdictions, they shall be required to undergo facility-based quarantine periods prescribed for yellow list countries/territories/jurisdictions,” said Nograles.

Fully vaccinated individuals traveling from red list areas are required to undergo a facility-based quarantine with another RT-PCR test taken on the seventh day being the date of arrival as their first day.

If the traveler tests negative for Covid-19, they may be released and complete their quarantine at home up to the 14th day from the date of arrival.

Unvaccinated, partially vaccinated or whose vaccination status cannot be independently validated must also observe the same policy except that they may only be discharged upon the completion of a 10-day facility-based quarantine regardless of a negative RT-PCR result and the continuation of isolation at home until the 14th day from their arrival in the Philippines.

Countries or territories currently under the red list are Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Canada, Curacao, French Guiana, Iceland, Malta, Mayotte, Mozambique, Puerto Rico (United States), Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Spain and the US Virgin Islands.

Fully vaccinated individuals traveling from yellow list countries or jurisdiction shall undergo a facility-based isolation with RT-PCR testing on the fifth day upon their arrival.

They may be sent home for the completion of quarantine up to the seventh day if they have a negative RT-PCR result.

Individuals from the yellow list who were unvaccinated, partially vaccinated or whose vaccination status cannot be independently validated will be asked to undergo a facility-based quarantine with RT-PCR testing done on the seventh day with the day of their arrival as the first day.

Once with a negative result, travelers may be released for completion of home quarantine up to the 14th day. (SunStar Philippines)