ABOUT 2,010 overall personnel will be deployed during the national and local elections this May 9, 2022, Davao City Police Office Chief Colonel Alberto Tupaz said.

Tupaz said 80 percent will be deployed on the field while 20 percent are in the police stations.

He added there will be two personnel per polling precinct and they will be 50 meters away from their assigned polling precinct.

The DCPO chief also reminded the public to strictly observe the “No Face Mask, No Entry, and No Vote” policy that will be imposed during the election for the safety of everyone.

The implementation of the 24-hour liquor ban will start at midnight of May 9 until the end of the election. Bars and nightclubs will be strictly monitored.

DCPO also reported 59 cases and confiscated firearms and 12 wielded weapons during the campaign period and the start of the gun ban.

There were also 200 personnel who will join the absentee voting from April 27 to 28, 2022.

Tupaz encouraged citizens to exercise suffrage.

“The government is doing everything to secure the election, Comelec, AFP, PNP and other law enforcement agencies and security sectors of the government so that the people will vote, kailangan ‘yong totoong boto ng mga tao ang syang maglagay ng ating pinuno, next leader natin (It should be the real vote of the citizen that will put the next head, our next leader),” he said.

PRO-Davao earlier released the hotspots for the May 9, 2022 election and tagged areas with yellow (areas of concern) and orange (areas of immediate concern) categories based on the parameters given by the Commission on Elections.

The identified yellow areas are the municipalities of Sta. Cruz, Matanao, Magsaysay, Malalag, Hagonoy, Padada, New Corella, and Monkayo. On the other hand, the municipalities of Kiblawan, Lupon, Mabini, Maco, Maragusan, Montevista, New Bataan, and Pantukan are tagged as the orange category areas.