TALISAY City in Cebu province and four other areas in the country have been placed under Alert Level 1, the lowest quarantine status so far in the Philippines.

Presidential spokesperson Martin Andanar said the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) approved on Monday, May 2, 2022, the de-escalation from Alert Level 2 to 1 of the five areas as per recommendations of the sub-Technical Working Group for Data Analytics.

Under Alert Level 1 effective May 3 to 15, 2022 are the following:


* CAGAYAN VALLEY: Nueva Vizcaya


* CENTRAL VISAYAS: Talisay City, Cebu


* NORTHERN MINDANAO: Misamis Occidental

* SOCCSKSARGEN: Antipas, North Cotabato; Banga, South Cotabato

“Alert level classifications of component cities and municipalities under IATF Resolution Nos. 165-G (s.2022), 166-A (s.2022), 167-A (s.2022) not otherwise affected by this resolution shall remain in effect until 15 May 2022,” said Andanar in a statement.

Talisay City joined Cebu City, Mandaue City and Lapu-Lapu City in the list of areas under Alert Level 1. Also under Alert Level 1 in Central Visayas is Siquijor province, Amlan (Ayuquitan) town in Negros Oriental, and Duero town in Bohol.

See list of areas under Alert Level 1 from May 1 to 15, 2022.

Under Alert Level 1, all restrictions, including on travel, venue or transportation capacity, are removed. All businesses are also allowed to operate.

The vulnerable population, such as children, senior citizens and persons with comorbities, are also allowed to go out of their homes. (LMY)