FORTY-THREE hours after the polls closed at 7 p.m. on Monday, May 9, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) Davao City officially declares incumbent Davao City Vice Mayor Sebastian "Baste" Duterte as the 19th mayor of the city, with Councilor Melchor Quitain, Jr., who is unopposed, as the next vice mayor.

The two were proclaimed Wednesday afternoon, May 11, with Duterte garnering 621,764 votes and Quitain with 561,976 votes.

First District Representative Paolo Duterte was reelected with 224,008 votes.

Other incumbent representatives in Congress were also reelected. In the second district, Vincent Garcia gained 159,702 votes, and Isidro Ungab won in the third district with 180,286 votes.

Comelec in Davao City also proclaimed the winning councilors.

For the first district councilor, incumbent councilor Edgar "Kap" Ibuyan, Jr. ranked first with 156,764 votes, followed by Luna Acosta, daughter of ex-councilor Mabel Acosta with 153,835 votes; Jessica Bongguyan with 146,458 votes; former TV broadcaster Tek Ocampo with 144,502 votes; former Vice Mayor Bernie Al-ag with 141,273 votes; Bonz Militar, grandson of long-time councilor Bonifacio Militar with 138,891 votes; longtime councilor Pilar Braga (132,506 votes), and re-electionist Nilo Abellera, Jr. (123,383 votes).

Reelectionist Che Che Justol has the most number of votes in the second district and the entire city with 175,678 votes, followed by other second district councilors: Javi Campos (172,795 votes), Louie John Bonguyan (164,401 votes), Dante Apostol (153,960 votes), Diosdado Mahipus, Jr. (152,116 votes), Jonard Dayap (150,707 votes), and returning councilors Marissa Abella (148,333 votes), and Al Ryan Alejandre (137,896 votes).

Incumbent councilor Alberto Ungab leads the councilor race for third district with 116,241 votes, followed Wilberto Ungab (137,185 votes), Dr. Potpot Villafuerte (123,921 votes), Myrna Dalodo-Ortiz (121,816 votes), Sweet Advincula (120,335 votes), Cocoy Zozobrado (119,625 votes), Conde Baluran (115,105 votes), and Enzo Villafuerte (105,139 votes).

The Duterte brothers did not personally attend the proclamation rally, and were only represented by their staff.

However, in a Facebook post, the vice mayor thanked all his supporters.

"Naa tulo ka tuig para mupakita og resulta sa inyoha, pagkahuman sa tulo ka tuig, kamo nala'y bahala unsaon na ninyo. Ako, pasalamat lang ko. Di lalim nga ing-ana kadaghan nga tao nga musalig ug musuporta nimo (I have three years to show you results. After three years, you will be the judge of me. I am grateful to all of you. The confidence and support you give is not something to be taken for granted)," the young Duterte said.

Quitain, meanwhile, in an ambush interview, thanked his supporters who voted for him despite being unopposed.

He said he is currently finishing some of his work load as floor leader before he will turn over his position to the next leader.

Incumbent Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio, who served as mayor of the city for three non-consecutive terms from 2010 to 2013 and 2016 until June 30, 2022, is currently leading the vice presidential race with 31,543,271 votes. (RGL)