CEBU Island delivered the most number of votes in the country for former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. and Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio, the frontrunners in the presidential and vice presidential races, respectively, Sugbo News said Friday, May 13, 2022.

Cebu Province (including the highly urbanized cities of Cebu, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu) is the most vote-rich among the country’s 81 provinces with its 3,288,778 registered voters, and 1,515,812 of those voted for Marcos while 1,772,999 voted for the presidential daughter, figures provided by the Capitol’s official news platform showed.

Pangasinan (with Dagupan City) came in second, giving Marcos 1,374,560 votes and Duterte-Carpio 1,054,326 votes.

Cavite came in third, giving Marcos 1,121,108 votes and Duterte-Carpio 1,031,113 votes.

Bulacan came in fourth, after giving Marcos 1,024,069 votes and Duterte-Carpio 870,629 votes.

The four provinces are among the country’s five most vote-rich provinces, with Cebu (including the tri-cities) having 3,288,778 registered voters; followed by Cavite, 2,302,353 voters; Pangasinan (with Dagupan City), 2,096,936 voters; Laguna, 2,045,687 voters; and Bulacan, 2,007,523 voters.

In a statement, reelected Cebu Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia, whose One Cebu party backed the tandem, said that for the May 9, 2022 elections where she ran for a fifth term as governor, she had campaigned like never before in her political life.

“Tungod kay sa labing unang panahon usab, ako matinud-anon nga mituo sa mensahe sa atong tataw na kaayo umaabot nga presidente ug umaabot nga bise presidente. Tungod kay ang ilang mensahe haum ug tukma sa mithi sa One Cebu – KAHIUSAHAN." (Because for the very first time too, I sincerely believed the message of our very obvious future president and future vice president. Because their message fits and is in line with the values ​​of One Cebu – UNITY.)

As of 2:47 p.m. Friday, Marcos had 31,104,175 votes versus nearest challenger Leni Robredo’s 14,822,051 votes from 98.35 percent of election returns, while Duterte-Carpio got 31,561,948 votes against Sen. Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan’s 9,232,883 votes.

Garcia herself amassed a large number of votes in the May 9, election when she secured a historic 80.80 percent of the votes or 1,478,436 votes, beating former tourism secretary Joseph Felix Mari “Ace Durano, who garnered 18.66 percent of the votes or 341,155 votes, and Nito Magnanao, who got 0.53 percent of the votes or 9,812 votes, in the race for governor.

The Commission on Elections said the votes Garcia got were the highest ever cast for a Cebu governor.