PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law establishing campuses of the Cebu Technological University (CTU) in the towns of Liloan and Borbon in the Province of Cebu.

On April 27, 2022, Duterte signed Republic Act (RA) 11751 principally authored by reelected Cebu Rep. Vincent Franco “Duke” Frasco (Cebu, fifth).

On September 20, 2029, Frasco separately filed House Bills (HB) Nos. 4740 and 4741, establishing a CTU satellite campus in Liloan and Borbon, respectively.

In a statement sent to SunStar Cebu on Friday, May 20, 2022, Frasco said Liloan, a first class municipality, is a home to a number of industries in need of technical instructions, such as livestock and vegetable farming, baking, ceramics, and manufacturing, among others.

Borbon, on the other hand, is fourth class municipality which main sources of livelihood is farming and fishing, including crop, livestock, agriculture, farm machinery, vegetable and fodder.

Frasco said establishing CTU satellite campuses in Liloan and Borbon will greatly benefit the families of students living in far-flung areas of the Province of Cebu.

“Not only will it provide savings in tuition and other fees to the residents, but more importantly, it will fulfill the State’s policy to provide access to quality tertiary education for all,” Frasco added.

Frasco said the creation of CTU satellite campus was part of his campaign promises following his first-term victory during 2019 elections.

The two house bills were integrated into substitute HB 6877 establishing stand-alone CTU campuses of Liloan and Borbon instead of satellite campuses.

On June 4, 2020, the bill was unanimously approved and was transmitted to the Senate on June 8, 2020.

Senator Joel Villanueva, who chairs the Senate Committee on Higher, Technical and Vocational Education, sponsored the bill at the plenary on September 28, 2021 and was approved on January 17, 2022.

It was transmitted to the Office of the President for signing into law on March 31, 2022. (JKV with PR)