CONSOLACION Community College (CCC) is now one of the satellite campuses of Cebu Technological University (CTU).

This after a bill making the college an extension campus of CTU has been approved in Congress.

The announcement was made by the Municipal Government of Consolacion, northern Cebu, in a Facebook post on Wednesday, June 29, 2022.

The CCC will now be called Cebu Technological University-Consolacion Campus as stated in Republic Act no. 11800, otherwise known as Cebu Technological University-Consolacion Campus Act.

Under RA 11800, CCC will now be under the full supervision of CTU. All assets, real and personal, personnel, and records of the community college, as well as liabilities or obligations, shall be transferred to the state university.

As the community college now transitions into a state university, it can now offer bachelor’s, master’s, and even doctoral programs.

On December 20, 2019, the Consolacion municipal council, led by Vice Mayor and now Mayor-elect Teresa Alegado, passed a resolution requesting Cebu Sixth District, now Mandaue City Lone District Rep. Emmarie Ouano-Dizon to sponsor a bill converting CCC into one of the satellite campuses of the CTU.

The town’s municipal government believed that the absorption of CCC into CTU would provide positive socio-economic benefits to the less fortunate students who can now attain a college education at a lesser cost.

CTU now has about 23 campuses spread across Cebu Island.

The regulation shall take effect 15 days after its publication in the “Official Gazette” or newspaper of general circulation.