PULUPANDAN town Mayor Miguel Antonio Peña was elected president of the League of Municipalities of the Philippines-Negros Occidental chapter during the election held at the Sugarland Hotel in Bacolod City Friday, August 5, 2022.

Peña, who was unopposed, expressed his gratitude to those who voted for him as their league’s president as he vowed to serve for the greater welfare of the organization.

Peña took his oath of office as mayor of Pulupandan town before Negros Occidental Gov. Eugenio Jose Lacson at the capitol on July 20 following the resignation of Mayor-elect Lorenzo Suatengco due to health reasons.

La Castellana Mayor Alme Rhummyla Nicor-Mangilimutan was elected Vice President for Operations.

Other elected officers were Cauayan Mayor John Rey Tabujara as Secretary; Pontevedra Mayor Jose Maria Alonso as Treasurer; Hinoba-an Mayor Daph Anthony Reliquias as Auditor and Isabela Mayor Irene Meriam Luz Montilla as Public Relations Officer.

Meanwhile, Candoni Mayor Ray Ruiz; Murcia Mayor Victor Gerardo Rojas and Toboso Mayor Madonnah Jaojoco were elected as directors.

Calatrava town Mayor Marilyn Era administered the oath of office of the newly elected LMP officials while LMP national office representative LMP national representative lawyer Mary Ann Devera, Representative of and Mariecelle Bello-Zamora from the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) attested the conduct of the election.