THREE educators from the Department of Education (DepEd)-Leyte Division have been named by the Saceda Youth Lead among the Most Inspiring Teachers of the Philippines.

The awardees, Leyte Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Manuel Albaño, Assistant Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Henrietta Managbanag, and Head Teacher Dr. Gary Mosquito, were also conferred Professor Ad Honorem/Vitasta Ambassador Distinction, an honorary doctor of excellence, by the Université Henry Dunant during the ceremony at the Foundation University in Dumaguete City on August 5, 2022.

Mosquito, who has been in the service for 16 years, said he is “deeply honored and privileged” to receive the award.

“This award recognizes the highly qualified Most Inspiring Teachers who make a difference in youth leadership, education, and nation building, who strive for personal excellence, and who becomes a motivating example in the communities,” he said.

The Professor Ad Honorem/ Vitasta Ambassador Distinction is a professional recognition that provides an independent quality assurance reference for the Most Inspiring Teachers by the Saceda Youth Lead, a youth serving Institution under the auspices of the National Youth Commission of the Philippines.

Other awardees from Eastern Visayas were DepEd-Calbayog City Assistant Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Thelma Quitalig, Tacloban City Division teacher Eric John Estoque, Samar State University President Dr. Marilyn Cardoso, and Southern Leyte State University President Prose Ivy Yepes.

According to Saceda Youth Lead, 28 educators from over 100 nominees emerged as this year’s Most Inspiring Teachers of the Philippines during the six-month nationwide search.

There were 140 awardees from Batch 2013-2022 all over the country, including from the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (Barmm), who were conferred and received Honored Causa Professor/Ad Honorem Vitasta Ambassador Distinction or Honorary Doctor of Excellence. (SunStar Philippines)