Cebu FC signs players for 2022 PFL season

CEBU FC officially signed four players to its roster for the 2022 Philippines Football League (PFL) following the departure of a few key players.

Cebu FC lost two players on defense: veteran Spanish defender Joaco Canas and Turkish center back Nazim Ozcan.

Cebu FC announced that they have signed three defenders and a midfielder: Fil-Aussie Cristopher Lawless, Jacob Liao, Rico Andes and Fil-Brit Charlie Beaton.

The 27-year-old Beaton, who has Cebuano roots, returns home and should bring in a lot of experience at midfield. Beaton, a former Watford FC youth player, last played for Maharlika Manila FC.

Lawless, Liao and Andes hopefully will fill the void left by Ozcan and Cañas on the back line.

Lawless last played for Maharlika FC in the PFL, the 22-year-old Liao is transferring from Azkals Development Team, while Andes is a former Far Eastern University (FEU) standout.

Cebu FC makes its season debut in the 2022 PFL season on Aug. 14 against Kaya FC-Iloilo at the Rizal Memorial Stadium at 7 p.m.

Maharlika FC locks horns with Stallion Laguna FC at 4 p.m. at the same venue.

United City FC (UCFC) takes on Mendiola FC 1991 at the City of Imus Grand Stand also at 4 p.m.

UCFC is currently at the top of the league with three points and is slightly ahead of Stallion FC and Kaya FC, which also have three points each, on goal difference.


No stories found.

Just in

No stories found.

Branded Content

No stories found.
SunStar Publishing Inc.