AURELIO “Bodie” Valderrama Jr. was elected on Wednesday, September 21, as the national president of the Confederation of Sugarcane Farmers (Confed) for Crop Year 2022 to 2024 covering the period of September 1, 2022 to August 31, 2024.

Valderrama, who was elected as president of Confed Negros-Panay on Monday, September 21, is the president of the Vicmico Planters' Association Inc. (Vicmico). He also had a short stint as planters’ representative to the Sugar Board.

Pablo Lorenzo III was elected vice president. He is affiliated with the Associated Bukidnon Sugarcane Planters Inc.

The other officers who will also serve a two-year term are Nicolas Ledesma Jr. of First Farmers Association, Inc. (FFAI) as treasurer; Preciosa Maturan of Tolong Multi-Purpose Cooperative - assistant treasurer; Alfonso Gamboa of Associated Planters of Silay-Saravia, Inc. (Apssi) - secretary; and Ma. Regina Bautista-Martin of Asociacion de Hacenderos de Silay-Saravia Inc. (Ahssi) - assistant secretary.

The other elected members of the Confed National Board of Directors are: Lucio Ma. B. Barcelona Jr. of Independent Sagay-Escalante Planters, Inc. – MPC; Jose Ma. Z. Lopez of Nabinkalan Planters Association Inc); Mikel Tirso Teves of Negros Oriental Planters Association, Inc.; Alfredo Villarosa of C-Prime Corporation); Atty. Sabino Briones of Caceres Agricultural Producers Association Inc.; Raul Delfin Divinagracia of Sugar Planters Agriculture Cooperative; Loreto Mabborang of NORPHIL Farmers MPC; Fordson Macarubbo of Northern Philippines Planters Association Inc.; Antonio Ferdinand Maraňon of United Sugar Planters of Davao MPC; Ma. Luz L. Miranda of Pampanga Agro Sugar Planters Association Inc.; Antonio Pizarro III of United Sugarcane Planters of Bukidnon Association, Inc.); Wilfredo Sawit of Central Azucarera de Tarlac Planters Association Inc.; and Fedelito Los Baňos of First Mindanao United Planters Association Inc. (PR)